Figuring it out…

So I got the dreaded/anticipated follow-up call from Dr. G. I tried very hard not to cry but frankly I couldn’t keep it in. He was very patient and understanding considering.

So he wants us to come in and talk. I think we will do it after the new year. I am not sure how we can afford a fresh IVF but I just can’t give up. At least not yet. I still have Powerball/robbing a bank or two hopes…

I did ask about protocol for this potential IVF and throwing in chromosomal testing. He said it wasn’t unreasonable to do it thanks to my hell of ectopic, blighted ovum and chemical. And he said that we could do the chromosomal as well as PGD. I thought it was one or the other, so we will have to clarify that… But it would be the fresh cycle and then the embies would be frozen and then thawed. He said the new way of freezing results in a 98 percent thaw rate, far better than what our embies were frozen at.

So I do have little embers of hope burning. How we accomplish this, I have yet to figure it out. But knowledge is half the battle right?

Until then, I am trying to enjoy the holidays and be thankful for what I do have. Which is a lot. I just need to remember that more often…

3 Responses to “Figuring it out…”

  1. Denise Says:

    I’m glad you’re able to find a little hope and I’m hoping fervently that you are somehow able to give O a sibling. Wish there was something I could do to help!

  2. Spicy Sister Says:

    So glad to hear that you were able to leave the conversation with hope. I hope as the new year unfolds that hope gets bigger as well!

  3. auntiem10 Says:

    I found you. : ) I am so curious to see what Dr. G will say about the process of PGD & CCS. I agree with your mindset–just get through Christmas and then take it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

