Tag, I’m It?

Yesterday, in my usual round of reading, I was utterly surprised and humbled at the words of Miss A. at A Somewhat Ordinary Life. As a newbie to this whole IF world and a somewhat outsider to it, I was beyond words when she nominated me as one of the blogs that make her think (or, more accurately, as one of the blogs yet untagged as one that makes her think).

I started my blog in a wholly selfish manner, a way for me to find comfort, advice and camaraderie in what we’re going through in an effort for children. What I found is beyond what I could ever have imagined – a diverse, fascinating community of women who have endured much greater struggles than I have in our efforts toward parenthood yet who are so amazingly supportive, sweet and thoughtful in my little struggles and frequent bitch fests. Everyone’s honesty, humor and expression of emotion is inspiring.

In an effort to return the favor, it’s my turn to send a shout out to some of my favorite thinking/make me laugh/make me cry blogs out there.

Our IVF Journey – I always find myself a little less alone after reading Mary Ellen’s blog. Like us, she and her husband will be doing PGD for genetic reasons, which forged an immediate connection with me. I find her optimism contagious. Even when she says she’s down, she always seems to have a glimpse of that silver lining, to have a drop of hope that I can only try to emulate.

A Somewhat Ordinary Life – I know, cheating. But I find Miss A.’s writing echoes a lot of the feelings I am experiencing but a lot of the times I don’t have the courage to say and for which I greatly admire her.

The Opposite of Knocked Up – You know you are in for a good read when Melissa actually posts a picture of herself in stirrups. Her humor aside, Melissa’s frank writing about her ups and downs makes me forget and shake my head at how young she is (yes, 26 is young) and how much she’s already endured.

All I Need is One Good Egg – Again, it’s humor and honesty rolled into one. K’s Baby-palooza 2007 is a great read from the ups and downs she and her husband have endured into trying to get pregnant as well as how she managed to plant a First Response tree outside her kitchen window.

What Have I Done For Me Lately – So this one isn’t about IVF, IF or any other acronym. My real-life friend (she’s going to kill me) opted to start a blog about what she is doing for herself in the face of infidelity. It is not something I read for the “my problems could be worse factor” but as a way to remind myself that no matter how perfect a woman’s life may seem on the surface, every woman has struggles and deserves unequivocal support from her fellow sisters.

Everyday I learn something new from and find myself caring about the futures of women I know only online. I thank each and every one of you for the hope, inspiration, laughter and tears you bring me on a daily basis.

3 Responses to “Tag, I’m It?”

  1. Mary Ellen Says:

    Aw Jen. You made me cry. You are so sweet.

  2. Somewhat Ordinary Says:

    Jen, thank you for the kind words!!!

  3. K Says:

    Jen –

    I have fallen WAAAY behind in my blog reading, and I am going back through old posts of yours to get caught up. Just read this post, and wanted to send sincere thanks for the shout out! I wholeheartedly enjoy your blog as well – I think you are a fantastic writer. Apparently you chose the right profession! 😉 Thanks –
    K

Leave a Reply

