Seeing the forest through the tails

It was once thought only to exist in legends of yore, tales from long ago… Yet one brave puppy sought to find the truth, the forest she had only seen in her dreams. Her name was Molly. And she found it in the basement. The Scottie Forest.

Obsession? Addiction? Adoration?

Or a little of bit of all three? However it began, my sweet MIL has an ENORMOUS collection of all things Scotties. From pads of paper to cookie cutters to clothing to decanters. And our newest family addition? Of course, is a Scottish Terrier, because, naturally, my husband grew up with the breed and declared them “the best dogs ever,” therefore, our next dog would be a Scottie.

Cue Thanksgiving and the myriad boxes my in-laws brought with them. Boxes of Scottie-related items. Nearly anything and everything imaginable. Only problem? My decorating style doesn’t involve Scotties, especially the near life-size replicas that in the dark shadows of night make me think a gang of Scotties has invaded the house.

Thus, their relegation to the basement. Next to all the not-yet-needed baby items, compliments of my SIL.

Yet last night at our holiday dinner, my ever-doubting coworkers scoffed at the idea that such a Scottie Forest existed. So I had to bring proof, indeed Miss Molly had found the forest. Including the dog with the jaunty little hat. So I present the first physical proof of said forest. Molly the conqueror. 

And now, I share it with you.

It’s hilarious. And yes, I still love my in-laws no matter what Scottie stuff, however ridiculous, they give us.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

9 Responses to “Seeing the forest through the tails”

  1. Amy R Says:

    That is seriously one cute dog 🙂

  2. peesticksandstones Says:

    Fabulous! And much better than the “forest” of weird and hideous handicrafts we’ve been collecting from my MIL…

  3. meg Says:

    That is so cute!!!

  4. Somewhat Ordinary Says:

    So cute! What is about MIL that once you tell them you like something they go crazy with it. When we rented our house had a very coastal decor and I had one or two lighthouse things. They were very much my taste not necessarily that I like everything lighthouse. Well, for the past 5 years I have gotten something lighthouse from her-magazine subscriptions, blankets, pictures, figurines etc. None of it was anything I would ever buy myself. We moved into our house 3 years ago and it isn’t decorated coastal, but I still seem to get stuff from her.

  5. maryellenandsteve Says:

    OMG too cute!

  6. Becks Says:

    Gorgeous!! I grew up with Cairn terriers which are not too disimilar to Scotties. When we get a dog (huge debate with Other Half but he’ll give in when I resort to physical violence!) I want a West Highland White terrier – you’re so lucky to have a dog lover as a husband.

    You could use them as door stops!!

  7. Denise Says:

    That picture is awesome! I’m not saying I doubted your stories about the scottie obsession, but wow, this exceeds my expectations! Oh, and I saw the picture of your Molly in the blood draw room on Friday. I’m definitely going to have to remember to bring pix of our Molly and Scout in next time.

  8. singletracey Says:

    That is adorable!!!!

  9. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    That is fantastic! Do you have any Scottie sweaters you can wear to match with all the statues? 😛

Leave a Reply

