Putting the Cart Before the Horse

It always strikes me funny when my boss comes to talk to me about subjects he is uncomfortable with. Or, at the least, what seems to me subjects he is uncomfortable discussing.

He also has let it be known around our office of seven that I am the one with the bold mouth. Bold for my frankness, honesty and pottiness, which I took as a compliment.

So it was funny when he popped into my office this afternoon and started the conversation about us getting pregnant. Him, not me. And actually it began, “I don’t want to put the cart before the horse, but when you want we can discuss maternity leave options.”

He continued that he knew we would get there and he is really rooting for us but didn’t want me to worry about maternity leave. Mind you, several years ago we touched briefly on the subject, when the company’s law firm insisted we have a manual regarding our policies. Yes, for seven fricking people. However, he didn’t want to put a maternity leave policy in writing because he wanted to base it on an individual’s needs.

So we’ve never spoken in concrete terms. And I don’t think he believed me that I’d like six months of paid leave.

But he was very serious in my doorway, telling me whenever I want we can discuss what he is thinking and what I am thinking regarding maternity leave. As well, he mentioned that unlike this high-powered law firm we work with, I will not be sentenced to three months of unpaid leave.

“I just want to put your mind at rest.”

Honestly, I find it sweet and funny my boss would actually worry that I worried about maternity leave. In reality, I just assumed that would work itself out and we’d figure it out. I also find it touching that he really believes round two of our ART adventure will work.

I didn’t tell him though my more immediate concerns were about an appropriately thick lining, embryos thawing and implantation. Not maternity leave.

But it’s nice to know someone is thinking that long-term this will work.

8 Responses to “Putting the Cart Before the Horse”

  1. Denise Says:

    Sounds like a great boss! Ooooh, can you imagine how quickly he’d want to run out of the room if you starting talking about your lining, embryos and implantation? Poor guy.

  2. peesticksandstones Says:

    Ha! That reminds me of the acupuncture appointment I had today (my first). He was talking about how he’d try to help with infertility, but then he started going on about what he’d do to prepare me for delivery and I must’ve looked at him like he was on crack. Labor… labor? Please, just let me get past the first trimester one day…

    So cool to have a supportive boss. One less thing to stress about.

    Looking forward to hearing more about how things are going. Have a happy weekend!

  3. Rebecca Says:

    It’s nice that he’s trying to put your mind at ease. It has been surprising to me how many people around me have had experiences with infertility…it may be an issue that is closer to him than you know. Hopefully he’s just trying to de-stress you as much as possible…we could all use that once in a while! Good luck!

  4. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    I must say that I’m impressed that your boss went in to comfort you about that. It’s very sweet and very telling. It’s obvious that they appreciate all that you bring to the table and they want the best for you.

    There is nothing like having a boss that supports you both in the work place and outside of it. 🙂

  5. Serenity Says:

    Awww, that’s so sweet of your boss. What a great one, eh?

  6. singletracey Says:

    That was VERY cool of your boss.. mine can only think of getting me more “hooked up” at home so that when I am on leave for 3 months I can work a little”…. LOL

  7. maryellenandsteve Says:

    Wow! What a nice boss!

  8. Lady in Waiting Says:

    That’s incredibly nice. 6 months of paid leave sounds like a dream to me!! If all bosses were like that, the U.S. would be a lot nicer!

    I am impressed by how many eggs from your fresh cycle fertilized. I bet the FET will work! My fingers are crossed for you!!

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

