What a difference a little seaweed makes…

Back in September, I thought our first transfer went relatively easy. Sure, one embryo stuck in the catheter had to be flushed in again and I had to pee like four minutes into it but I really didn’t think it was bad.

Yesterday was a world of difference.

And, I hate to admit it, the seaweed seemed to be the difference.

The catheter went in so easy. Then the embryos were flushed in. Neither stuck in the tube. And an hour later, we were done. I even told my RE that I didn’t think the first was bad but this was SOOO MUCH EASIER.

So I am hopeful it is a sign of things to come.

As for the thaw, I didn’t know the results until right before transfer. Of the three frozen, all were defrosted. The first one didn’t survive the thaw, the second one was already losing its cell wall (the zona whatever, Valium was my friend yesterday…). So they thawed the third and it was absolutely perfect.We opted to transfer the perfect one, obviously, and then the so-so one. The RE told us that with the embryo losing the shell, there is no way to know whether the cells in it survived or not. It happens naturally inside but with the frozen/thaw experience, there is no way to know. I figured it couldn’t hurt so we did.

My hubby looked at both under the microscope and said it was obvious that one had a defined cell wall and the other didn’t. But, whatever, they weren’t going to do anything with the embryo anyway…

So I’ve been camped on the couch. I was a little worried about sleeping last night, though. With our first transfer, the first night I woke up with a crazy horrible, painful cramping experience. I now wonder if that was the embryo making its way into my left tube. I also wonder if the double flushing of last time pushed them to float to my tubal region.

Last night, no pains, no nothing. I was thrilled. I really am trying to be positive that this will work. We got pregnant last time, why can’t we this time?

So now the fun wait begins. I know it will be all worth it though.  

 *My best friend just called me to ask if I had been to my front door yet. She, apparently left a goodie bag on the door to keep me busy. So sweet. So I am currently munching on baby goldfish. It’s a sign. Not that I eat my young but babies. :)*

Photobucket

Tags:

12 Responses to “What a difference a little seaweed makes…”

  1. meg Says:

    Rest up and let those babies implant!

  2. Amy R Says:

    I have my positive cap on for you. Have fun with the goodie basket!!!

  3. singletracey Says:

    Keep your feet up and rest up missie!! This is it my friend!!! We shall IM upon your return to the land of sitting up and not resting.

    MUAH!
    T

  4. Erica Says:

    What a wonderful friend you have! I am sending you positive thoughts and I really hope for the best for you!

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Rest and relax. I’m keeping everything crossed for you!!! 🙂

  6. Denise Says:

    Oh, I’m so glad the seaweed helped! And I’m glad you had one perfect thaw. You never know about the other one, it may just stick around also! That’s cool that hubbie got to look under the microscope. Did you ever ask if they take pictures of them?

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Everything sounds perfect! What a nice gift from your friend too. Enjoy your down time and implant, implant, implant!

  8. Laura Says:

    So glad the transfer went well! And what a great friend! 🙂

  9. Jennifer Says:

    That’s awesome news…I’m thrilled that you feel more confident about this transfer and it went so much more smooth!

    Hey, what’s the seaweed thing you used??? I’ve never heard of that!

    Congrats again…good luck in the 2WW…do you think you’ll POAS before your beta?

  10. Eggedout Says:

    Sounds like it went really well! And what a thoughtful friend.
    Good luck!!

  11. Vanessa Says:

    How exciting 😀 it sounds like everything went perfectly! Enjoy the rest and quiet time while you can 🙂

  12. luna Says:

    glad everything went so well. good luck in the 2ww! what a sweet friend you have. ~luna

Leave a Reply

