Like Bob Barker Says…

I’m all for helping control the pet population. But I didn’t know I’d feel so guilty.

Here I am struggling to get properly pregnant and what do I send my little 7-month-old Molly off to today?

Laser removal of her ovaries and uterus.

Now I never once considered breeding my puppy. She’s so little. And far to be young to be having sex let alone having sextuplets.

But I feel incredibly guilty that I took away her opportunity to have babies before she could even try or even “knew” if she wanted them.

Yes, I know.

She’s a dog and her motivations to chew my rug or play with her squeaky sock monkey toy are totally different than my motivation to be a mom.

Yet I can’t stop feeling so weirded out by how easily we made the decision to get her fixed when I am appalled at the idea of anyone, any politician, etc., telling me what I can and can’t do with my ovaries and my uterus.

And I’m even more weirded out by the fact, when our vet was explaining the procedure, he pulled out the little book filled with drawings of puppies insides and right there, before me, was a familiar sight – the very same equipment I’ve got inside.

Two ovaries and a uterus. 

So easily, so quickly removed.

Sigh. She’ll forgive me. I’ll forgive me. But right now, I feel so bad.

Tags:

13 Responses to “Like Bob Barker Says…”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Wow. I never really thought of it that way. And now I will. I don’t know if I should thank you for bringing this up or stick my tongue out at you for making me think about this for the rest of my life! ~wink~

  2. She Likes Purple Says:

    Oh, I really do understand. Our puppy (also Molly!) isn’t fixed, but we do hope to breed her.

  3. Amy Says:

    That is an interesting thought. When I brought “My baby” Oscar to be neutered, I had similar feelings about taking away his ability to “get it on”. HAH! And, I felt sooo guilty about bringing my adorable baby into a hospital to have an operation.

    It’s funny, like you with the puppies, I have really, really different feelings about teenage pregnancy. Not that I would encourage it by any stretch, but I would give it a second thought now. Meaning, when I was a late teenager, young college student, I asked myself what I would do if??? I always thought, how could I support a child if I can barely take care of my self? (It never happened by the way). Being unable to concieve a child now, I just don’t know if I would dismiss the thought so easily if I had it to do over again.

    Anyway, not sure if that made sense, but nothing really does these days.

  4. Holly Says:

    Yes, she will forgive you. But, I totally understand mourning the loss of your pooch’s furry fertility!

  5. Lori Says:

    Fertility is such a mercurial thing. It’s often not in the places where it should be. And vice versa.

    I completely understand your feelings.

  6. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    You know, since going through IF I’ve felt a renewed sense of guilt when it comes to my dog. She has this little stuff dog that looks like her and we always say that’s her baby. She carries it around the house and cleans it and is never rough with it. The whole thing makes me so sad and in a way I regret having her spayed. But then I think of the trouble not doing it would have caused…we made the right decision, but I understand how you’re feeling about the whole thing. HUGS.

  7. JJ Says:

    Just catching up with you and the past few days. Im sorry that the beta has not dropped more–not a gentle way of helping you let go=(
    I really like this post-the connection it really does make to what we all go through, and the decisions we have to make. Im sorry for Molly, but I know she will forgive you–I regret taking that away from our sweet dog, but as you know, its for the best most times.
    Totally getting where you are with this…

  8. Denise Says:

    I hear ya. I’ve been having similar thoughts about our dogs over the last couple of months-although Scout was spayed 2 1/2 years ago and our Molly was spayed about a week before we met her at the shelter, so that one was out of our control. I asked B a couple of weeks ago if he thinks the dogs ever feel the urge to mother and if they resent us for taking that opportunity away. He thought I was crazy. So, you’re not alone.

    But it is healthier for the dog if you don’t plan on breeding. Lower incidence of certain cancers, etc. I’m no vet, but that’s what I’ve been told.

  9. Bec Says:

    My pup is in heat right now – We have been making comments about her Aunt Flo all week. And she is bloated and gassy and poopy. And she has to wear a diaper. And she can’t sleep in our bed as she normally does. Definitely not comfortable for her. Though we are hoping to bread her, I find myself wondering if I will feel weird if she gets pregnant before me. Will I have the same jealous, yet happy reaction as when I hear that a friend of mine is expecting???

  10. Heidi Says:

    The interesting thing is that you may have your dog spayed, but nobody can remove her maternal instincts with a surgical procedure. My 2-year-old dog treats our 10-week-old puppy as if it’s her baby, teaching her how to play, but not too rough. Licking her face. Correcting her behavior. Curling up next to her protectively. The ability to “mom” is still inside of her — it’s instinct.

  11. MW Says:

    I agree with Heidi, both my older dogs “mothered” my puppy when we brought her home even though they have both been spayed.

    The puppy is now a year old. We’re holding off on getting her spayed until she’s two even though we don’t plan on breeding her (several reasons, long-ish explanation). She’s such a sweet dog and would make such a great mother that sometimes the thought of breeding her (not soon, but holding off on the spay and then doing it) does cross my mind. I’m able to quash it successfully by imagining her grandpuppies or great-grandpuppies ending up abandoned in a shelter or worse. It sounds like a horrible, cold thing to force myself to think, but I know that even if I could find good homes for her puppies, I could never control what happened from then on. It makes me feel much, much better about the fact that she will be spayed.

  12. christina(apronstrings) Says:

    it felt so wrong when we had our new puppy ‘fixed.’ ’cause i was so clearly broken. : (

    if it makes you feel any better it really is physically better for them. it lowers their risk of disease, etc.

    hope you find peace with your decision.

  13. Sue Says:

    Ahh – I know exactly how you feel, I just went through getting my dog neutered last Wednesday and I feel horrible.

Leave a Reply

