The start of something…

As kids, my childhood best friend and I imagined a lot of things.

Photobucket

Most importantly, of course, was the fact that ABBA were our parents. My mother, naturally, was Frida – the one with the red hair. Her mother was Agnetha, the one with the blonde hair, like her.

We also had Harr.iet the Sp.y notebooks. Fake names we’d use to send each other mail. Singing 1950s/1960s songs to a choreographed routine.

And this thing. We called it New Life. When we said it, at that moment and going forward we were going to do everything perfect in our lives. We’d say the right things, act the right way, do the right things. Everything in our life would be perfect.

Mind you, we’d have tons of do-overs. Just so we could try and get this “NL,” as we called it, right.

So, in honor of my 12-year-old self, I say NL.

Twenty years later I am not looking for everything to be perfect but for my perfect life. When I think of perfection, I see it as having a family. Not of driving a fancy car or living in a huge mansion. I can drive my crappy Blaz.er and live in my ghettofabulous house. But perfection is being a mom. My husband being a daddy.

Maybe I can throw in a be nicer to everyone clause, give more of myself to others, be better with my eating and save more money here and there in NL. And like before, I’m sure I’ll need a couple mulligans.

It just seemed appropriate that Sunday, with my first period post-miscarriage, that NL – and my hope – needed to be revived.

***

A little housekeeping:

As I mentioned above, my period started on Sunday, which puts me at a 30-day cycle. I am happy to know that my body seems to be getting back on track. With AF’s arrival, I have my hysteroscopy next week. Then, I hope, it start up our next round of IVF with the next period.

I started this post before I heard the news about the death of Ola Brunkert, drummer for ABBA. So I apologize for the bad timing and am very sorry to hear of his untimely death.

8 Responses to “The start of something…”

  1. singletracey Says:

    I LOVE ABBA!!! I had all their records and now I own their CD’s… Angel Eyes is actually one of my FAVORITE Abba songs 🙂

  2. Becks Says:

    I love ABBA too….”waterloo couldnt escape if I wanted to”..hmm that is an appropriate phrase for all this IVF stuff.

  3. JJ Says:

    I loved having “do-overs!” My sister and I would use that on a daily basis….if only it were that easy.

  4. Kristina Says:

    I love the idea of NL. Although it’s tragic that it happened on such a dark ABBA day. I know all about your freakish obsession with ABBA…much more so than the everyday person’s love of Dancing Queen. Which reminds me…think they’ll play Dancing Queen? Maybe we should yell it over and over again.

    Here’s to a New Life. I’m toasting you with my soda pop can!

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Cheers to you and the NL that accompanies the arrival of AF. HUGS!

  6. Lori Says:

    I think we may be sisters.

  7. Denise Says:

    Cheers to NL!

  8. Ahuva Batya Says:

    I love the NL idea, more so because you and your childhood friend thought of it so long ago. I wish the very best for your NL going forward!

Leave a Reply

