The Reason Why

In celebration of my first blogoversary, I am looking forward not backward. Instead of a post about what we’ve endured or how much more we have yet to achieve, I wanted to share with you a picture.

It’s the picture I look at to remind myself why we are doing IVF. When I feel sad, jealous or mad, I look at this picture to ground myself, remind myself that there is a reason why we are taking this path.

Photobucket
This is a picture of my hubby. At 20 months of age. His first broken bone. And one ginormous body cast.

It’s this image that pushes me to go forward, to trust that we are taking the right path to parenthood despite all the bumps in the road.

I smile when I see his cute toddlerness lying on the floor amongst his toys.

But I cry when I see his cute toddlerness on the floor amongst his toys.

Tags:

21 Responses to “The Reason Why”

  1. Ahuva Batya Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! I admire your ability to keep the faith, and find hope. I think that picture says a thousand things, and is a wonderful way to keep you focused on the goal.

  2. Lori Says:

    Touching photo, touching post.

    Your hubby is adorable.

  3. Lori Says:

    Forgot to say Happy Blogaversary!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Happy Blogaversary! Your amazing outlook and ability to keep pressing on despite all the obstacles handed to you is simply amazing.

  5. JJ Says:

    Happy Blogaversary! Love the photo…

  6. peesticksandstones Says:

    Love that picture! I have a big framed one of my husband as a newborn wearing giant old-school headphones — and I swear, I look at it 1,000 times a day. Now I understand why.

    Happy Blogaversary!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Happy blogaversary!!! Stay strong…and thanks for sharing the adorable photo!

  8. Denise Says:

    Happy blogaversary! I really hope that this next cycle does the trick for you. You deserve nothing less.

  9. Becks Says:

    Happy Bloaversary,

    I do hope you get to relive that photo with your child but minus the plastercast!

    We’ll get there, somehow someday.

  10. Amy Says:

    Happy Blogaversary!

    Cute pic…I can see why it pushes you forward.

    Take care.

  11. K Says:

    Happy Blogaversary. You are doing right to go through the path that you are doing. Loosing the pregnancy is a hard thing, but seeing your child hurt and cannot help it will be even harder.

  12. Maria Says:

    Happy Blogaversary!

    What an incredibly sweet picture. It is a great motivation for why you’re moving forward. I feel the same way when I look at baby pics of Cole. I imagine my child like him and it both makes me smile and makes me sad.

  13. Sue Says:

    Happy Blogaversary!

    What a cute pic!

  14. nancy Says:

    Happy anniversary to you indeed!

    (trigs – children going to be mentioned…)

    I had that exact same block wagon. SAME blocks. And now my kids play with it, pulling the little rope that is no longer allowed on childrens toys. Doing the same things that I did when I was little.

    And that is why I keep going. To see the same things happen through generations. I feel like I’m able to watch things through my mother’s eyes … seeing my daughters play with a toy that I had once played with.

    Yes, it’s all worth it.

  15. Erica Says:

    Happy Blogaversary!

    I totally get what you are saying. Your husband is such a doll, and seeing him lying there, I can imagine why that helps you keep the faith in this journey. However you get to parenthood, I have no doubt that you will be amazing at it!

  16. sara Says:

    Happy blogaversary! Many more great ones to come!

  17. Q Says:

    A little belated, but happy blogaversary! And thanks for commenting on my blog the other day 🙂

  18. 2weeks2much Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I will be catching up on yours tonight. It’s comforting to get to know others going through the same process!

  19. SaraS-P Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! I hope this next year brings happiness in many forms.

  20. Kristen Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! That photo is so simple but speaks volumes. I hope that this next year of blogging is a happy, fulfilling one. XOXO

  21. Heidi Says:

    Happy Blogoversary!!!!

Leave a Reply

