What’s Your IF?

To say I still struggle with where I fit in to this IF world and its accompanying acronyms is an understatement.

It’s not about me being labeled with the broadly, over-generalized term of infertile but more so the feeling of me not being worthy of that label.

When I think of those struggling with infertility, I think of individuals with courage, faith, hope and perseverance. I think of their strength in going through multiple cycles with an outcome unknown. I think of their desire, their dreams.

It’s familiar to me. Yet I am not one of you. I don’t deserve to be honored with the label infertile.

But I do love the label Christina came up with for me.

FFTO. Fertility fucked twice over. It’s succinct. It’s concise. It’s true.

And it explains, at least in my opinion, a little more about our experience with IVF.

But it got me thinking. If IF doesn’t define me, does it really define anyone? Aren’t each of our individual experiences, our stories greater and deeper than two letters can express? Or even my newfound four?

If you had to make up an acronym for your experience, though, would you? What would it be?

Tags:

9 Responses to “What’s Your IF?”

  1. JJ Says:

    It is hard to “define” ourselves in our journey to parenthood..for sure!

    I like (but dont like, of course) your acronym. I wish you didnt have to use it…

    Ill think more about mine, but for now: MFF (male factor Fu*&#!)

  2. Kristina Says:

    NIFBSCP

  3. sara Says:

    Those of us with a unicornuate uterus call ourselves UUers…but I’ll have to think of something more creative!

  4. Rebecca Says:

    OC – Ovuationally Challenged.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    I don’t think I can give myself a fun acronym anymore…but I think your post is cute…no one wants to be called an infertile – I hate that term.

  6. SaraS-P Says:

    I used to worry that I could never be a true IFer since my first pregnancy (short as it was) resulted from our very first intentionally timed sex sessions. I also felt like I didn’t belong before I had actually seen an RE.

    I do like Fertility Fucked as a label. Or subfertile. Technically I know the possibility is very real, but noticeably less attainable than my peers.

    I try to stay away from my personal term WOD – womb of doom.

  7. Ahuva Batya Says:

    I like your new acronym. I think I will be NBKWINPY (Nobody Knows Why I’m Not Pregnant Yet).

  8. Maria Says:

    I like (but wish it wasn’t true) your acronym.

    Mine would be WTFIWWM (What The Fu$% Is Wrong With Me)!

  9. Duck Says:

    FUFTFCFOFE (fuc%ed uterus, fuc%ed tube, fuc%ed cervix, fuc%ed ovaries, fuc%ing Endo).
    That felt good.

Leave a Reply

