Stims, Day Six *Updated*

After my follicle check this morning, I was feeling kinda bummed. The tech counted 7 on the left and 4 on the right around 2 (or that is what the nurse said, they are being very stingy with numbers) and then a bunch of smaller ones.  Ones she didn’t measure.

So I started to panic. The only reason we are doing this is for PGD and I need QUALITY and QUANTITY, as we proved last time by day five, the 50-50 odds of passing on OI were nearly dead on with six unaffected and seven affected blasts…

Thank the goddess I wrote stuff down. From August, the first day six…

My sonographer noted that I was doing very well. Although, she didn’t give me specifics on numbers of follicles or sizes, I spied on the screen that all of the ones she measured are above 1.4 centimeters. I counted 11. I want more. Maybe I’m being greedy but I just fear doing the PGD we won’t have a lot to transfer and that freaks me out.

I feel a little better now as we ended up getting 17. That is my goal this time around. I just want enough unaffected ones. And yes. I know it only takes one. But I’m already hanging my hat on third time’s the charm…

* That nurse (yes, Denise, our “favorite”) just called to tell me my meds. I didn’t bother asking levels, nothing. Anyway, still 1 vial in the morning and 75 u of gonal f at night. And I don’t have to go in for an ultrasound or bw in the morning. Is that good or bad? I had an appointment scheduled… I go in Saturday morning then for a check. And maybe it’s me, but they all keep asking if I have appointments for the u/s and bloodwork. When you sent me my calendar, I made the appointments. So I wouldn’t be forced to be there at 7 am on a weekend. Uggh. Anyway. Slow and steady wins the race, right?*

 

11 Responses to “Stims, Day Six *Updated*”

  1. maria Says:

    I’ll keep praying that your ovaries keep going. More Follies!!!!

  2. JJ Says:

    Its so hard to predict what our ovaries will give us! Definitely a benefit of keeping a blog/journal and being able to look back!
    Keep on growin’ follies!!

  3. HeidiM Says:

    They counted around 12 for me last time and I got 20. It may be the norm that they underestimate. It is funny how they’re stingy with #s but I’m guessing they’re so busy and careful to keep on schedule that they don’t want to hang with us and answer the 20 questions we all predictably and rightfully have. I was so happy when I ordered a copy of my medical records from CCRM and finally had all the info in my posession. Made me feel like a bad girl who stole their secrets.

  4. Kymberli Says:

    It’s a good thing you had those notes from the first cycle to reassure yourself! Hopefully, things will turn out the same, if not better than they did before!

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    I’ll be keeping everything crossed that Saturday’s scan turns out great! HUGS!

  6. Duck Says:

    I hate it when they don’t give you the details. At my clinic they measure them and put them on my electronic file, so I can count them and see all the sizes (which is nice because I love ALL the details). Hope things go okay.

  7. Denise Says:

    I HATE it when they don’t give you the details. I don’t think it is a bad sign that they had you cancel tomorrow’s appointment. It sounds like they are just taking things slow, which is what they were trying to do this time, right? I seem to remember them asking me all the time, over and over, if I had an appointment and I always had all of them up front. Not sure why they do that.

    Keep on growin, little follies!

  8. sara Says:

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for some good quanity and quality of those folllicles. Maybe I’ll give your follicles a weekend pep talk just to get them fired up and motivated. That’s what I did with mine, and now that’s what I do with Spot when I feel like I really need them to pull out all the stops. I’ll even put on my very official stern face when I talk to your follicles, they just have to listen to me then! Good luck with tomorrow’s appointment, I’m pulling for you!

  9. christina(apronstrings) Says:

    well, i am glad that you wrote about it last time too. i wish you had more ’cause that’s what you need. ivf is such a rollercoastr!
    as always-i am rooting for you.

  10. Bee Cee Says:

    I do hope slow and steady wins the race. Really rooting for you Jen.

  11. docgrumbles Says:

    Hoping for the best…

Leave a Reply

