Brown Sugar

Regrettably, I am not talking about D’Angelo. No, instead I am talking about my puppy.

One of our goals is to eventually redo our kitchen but in the meantime we are dealing with what we’ve got. This includes the louvered door pantry.

Typically, I am the last one to leave in the morning and I make sure the hatches are battened from the 10-month-old Molly. Yesterday, I had my 8 a.m. wanding so my hubby was in charge. Or so I thought…

Guess who forgot to close the pantry?

It’s a mix of brown sugar, flour, two sizes of marshmallows (the small ones were stuck in her beard, on her leg) potatoes and coconut. (And the really ugly contact paper I used to cover the even uglier contact paper in the pantry.) We theorize she was trying to make some cookies in her own Scottie way.

And as much as I tried, I couldn’t be mad. I just had to laugh.

When my husband got home, he bathed her while I (unsuccessfully) mopped the floor. It’s now a thin layer of sugary stickiness around my entire kitchen. My hubby said he’d clean it tomorrow. With bleach. Apparently, I am a terrible mopper. Eh. I’ll live with that shortcoming.

And a picture of the offender, before her bath to remove the brown stickiness of her beard.

And yes, I checked that the pantry was closed this morning… Twice.

17 Responses to “Brown Sugar”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I’m sorry for the major pain in the ass this caused you, but that is waaaayyy to funny. I had a Scottie as a kid and boy was he a mischevious thing. I’m glad that I own the world’s laziest dog now.

  2. Denise Says:

    Oh, Molly, don’t you know potatoes don’t belong in cookies?

  3. JJ Says:

    Ohhh noooo…but I have to admit, I laughed! Im sorry for the mess! (ooh and I love that song by D’Angelo–whatever happened to him anyway?!)

  4. Amy Says:

    Too funny…at least it was something that didn’t cause her to be sick…but I would think her tummy wasn’t too happy after all that brown sugar! My 6 month old pup still has housetraining issues…so that’s what I have to clean everyday…I’ll trade you!

  5. Meg Says:

    Wow, that made me laugh pretty hard. I just love what they can come up with to get into. Maybe she is retaliating the wandings. Either way, it caused me to send the image to my husband and tell him our black lab Cole is not too bad after all….

  6. christina(apronstrings) Says:

    oh no. bad puppy! too funny. well, HELLO marshmellows, can you blame her?

  7. all4moi Says:

    Molly just didn’t want D’Angelo and his Brown Sugar to be Trapped in the Closet!! 😉 And seriously, where is D’Angelo – and why hasn’t he made another nekked video?!?! That one was G, double O, D – GOOD!!!

  8. Lori Says:

    I wish I could have known his thoughts when you guys came home. How do you say “oh, $hit!” in Doggy?

  9. bleu Says:

    LMAO tooo tooo cute. I love the marshmallow in the beard. You just can’t get mad at them, they are just too cute, believe me I know.

  10. pj Says:

    LOL!!!

    Jackson, my eleven month old pup, ate my favorite watch last night. It was the best watch I’ve ever owned. Sigh…

    My fault though, I guess. I left it out on the bed when I took a nap. I think he did it in protest for not paying attention to him.

    Spoiled much? 😛

  11. nancy Says:

    teehee. That’s funny. Hrm, I’m wondering if my kids have not made a bigger mess before? I think your little scottie has gotten the award!!!

    The marshmallow in the beard is awesome.

    side note: Grow follies – GROW!!!

  12. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    That face is just too cute to be angry at! Thanks for the giggle, though I’m sorry you still have the sticky kitchen situation! 🙂

  13. Katie Says:

    Awww….you are right, how could you be mad at that face? My dog ate my BBT them (when I still used it) twice….at least yours had the sense enough to try and make a baked good 😉

  14. Duck Says:

    Maybe she was trying to make you some cookies? With a face like that – how could you be angry?

  15. sara Says:

    Oh my goodness…I think I would laugh and cry! I’m glad the doggie is okay though 🙂 The pictures are priceless! That’ll be a great story for years to come 🙂

  16. Kymberli Says:

    That’s hilarious!

  17. Bee Cee Says:

    Oh how I laughed…she looks so “what? it wasn’t me”. It was the bit about it being stuck to her leg that got me. Thanks for the chuckle.

Leave a Reply

