Anticlimatic

Today was my first OBGYN appointment. I think I could have faked being pregnant and gone in there. No ultrasound, no heartbeat. Granted, I just went Thursday to CCRM so maybe that was their reasoning. I had just wished I got to see the little one again.

But even more exciting is they think I have a bladder infection. Woo hoo. Mind you, I’ve been peeing a lot but none of the typical UTI burniness. The nurse said it was VERY common. She too mentioned that my vagina looked good (as in no reason for infection there, must be bladder), my uterus is about the size expected and by their little spin-the-due-date circle I’m 10 weeks 3 days. By my calculations I’m 10 weeks exact. Hmm. I guess everyone has a different method.

Overall, it was a disappointing day. Although I heart the nurse practicioner.  She was the one I met with right before all the abnormal pap stuff – when I was thinking we’d start right away on IVF. But she was so happy for us. She gave me a big hug at the end of the appointment. But still, I wanted to see the baby. Grr. Now I wait for another two weeks, when I go in for the *optional* 1st trimester ultrasound screening.

Ok. Back to chugging water. Yay.

And I’m really not complaining too much, I just expected angels heralding my arrival and ultrasounds galore!

15 Responses to “Anticlimatic”

  1. bleu Says:

    aww shoot, sorry about that.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I have to say that after ART with its frequent wandings, it is easy to be disappointed in the number of u/s you get during pregnancy. At my RE’s office there was an u/s machine in every exam room!

    Congrats though on the good-looking vagina. Sorry, but I just had to say that. I’m sure you are pretty used to talking genitalia with medical professionals by now.

  3. Kymberli Says:

    Aw man. Yet another 2ww!

  4. Denise Says:

    I think it must be standard. I didn’t get one either (and still haven’t had one!). The only U/S I’ve had was at Swedish (not at their office) for the spotting at 8.5 weeks. I had to almost beg to get one set up with my next appointment (at 15.5 weeks) and I think they only agreed because I have twins (and a fibroid). I was told by my insurance company that they only pay for one ultrasound the whole pregnancy unless there is a medical necessity for more than that. Can you believe that?

    I gave in and ordered a home doppler yesterday (yes, I gave in to peer pressure!), so when it gets here maybe we can meet up and have doppler dates!

  5. pj Says:

    Well yea, I would think that anyone having gone through IVF would get used being wanded every time they turn around. And then for there to ACTUALLY be something to look at in there!

    Congrats on graduating though. That is AWESOME!

    I like Denise’s doppler idea! I’m gonna go google how much they are. Cuz, maybe like 50 zillion years from now I’ll have a reason to use one. 🙂

  6. Carrie Says:

    I was lucky to have a 10 week u/s only because I had a previous m/c. The doctor did it basicially for my own desire. Then, I didn’t have another one until 20 weeks, which after just finding out we were having twins I wanted to have another to verify that we were indeed still having twins.

    2 more weeks hopefully won’t feel too long for you!

  7. Kristina Says:

    I learned (the hard way) that the only way to get extra ultrasounds is to have things go wrong. I used to want them all the time with Baby 1. And now I understand why it’s such a great thing to not have them. I know it’s disappointing, but it’s such amazing news that you didn’t get one. It’s cause for celebration 🙂

  8. christina (apronstrings) Says:

    verdy exciting!!!

  9. christina (apronstrings) Says:

    hahahahaha. i meant “very” though, ‘verdy’ has a nice ring to it.

  10. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Yeah, its definitely an adjustment going from an RE to an OB–they are not nearly as attentive. If it makes you feel any better, I haven’t seen Lemy since 25 weeks…so about 14 weeks now. It seems like an eternity, but at the same time it feels like I just found out I was pregnant. I guess my point is, two weeks will be here before you know it and you’ll get a nice, long look at the First Trimester screen, so it will be worth the wait! HUGS!

  11. modmillie Says:

    I’m sorry it was anticlimatic but secretly thrilled it was boring. Boring is good, right?

    Another two week wait though seems mighty unfair.

  12. sara Says:

    Gee don’t they know you’ve already been through enough TWWs? I hope the bladder infection thing goes away quickly for you and that the next two weeks flies by so you can sneak another peak at the little one 🙂

  13. HeidiM Says:

    I didn’t realize that prego U/Ss were so rare until catching up on blogs today. Sounds like the ins. co’s are pretty stingy with monitoring, that’s a shame! At least you have a super nice nurse. I know you can go pay for those 4D u/s (non-medical ones) but I think you have to wait til 18 weeks for those.

  14. Sue Says:

    Well first off CONGRATS! I just caught up and seen the GREAT news! I’m so happy for you! Bummer you didn’t get an u/s …

  15. docgrumbles Says:

    I personally feel there should be u/s at EVERY visit!

Leave a Reply

