Placenta previa…

It seems to always be something with me I think.

So today’s 1st trimester screening went well. The tech said the baby looked good, had a great heartbeat of 155 and two arms and two legs.

The only downer?

The placenta is covering the cervix.

Awesome.

She said that it often clears itself up as the uterus grows but there always is that chance it remains.

Of course, I only had the appointment for the scan. No appointment with a doctor, so tomorrow she will call me after looking at the scan to determine if I need anything beyond pelvic rest, etc.

Has anyone had this before and go away? Or have it and successfully deliver? I’m trying not to worry about it. I am only 12 weeks, but still. I worry. I haven’t had spotting, except for the day of the pap, which is normal for me. Uggh. I thought once I reached this magical threshold I’d feel a little more confident about the pregnancy. Maybe that only really happens at 40 weeks…

But the happy news is the bub is starting to look like a baby.

25 Responses to “Placenta previa…”

  1. nancy Says:

    Starting to? That’s a fabulous u/s shot! yay!!

    I have not had placenta previa, but I have “known” plenty of women who have had it – and it’s gone away as the uterus grows. Moving up just enough to be away from the cervix.

    You are awesome. Being that it’s always something. Me too. Let’s be best friends.

  2. Meg Says:

    I am emailing you some of the emails I got from a friend who has PP and who now has a healthy, chubby little guy Liam.

  3. Holli Says:

    My cousin had it during the last two of her five pregnancies (all healthy babies). Hers did move up as the baby grew. She did end up having a C-section for other reasons. According to her she actually prefer’s sections to vaginal delivery because she can plan when it’s going to happen, and she says the healing is quicker. I’ve never had a section so I don’t know. That’s just what she said.

  4. nancy Says:

    Jen – you know what the funniest thing about that was? I mentioned to Calliope that due to our “love” of having multiple medications stuck up our vaginas, we could be best friends. And she said almost the exact same thing as you.

    Damn – I sure give out my best friend status easily. Am I a BFF whore? 🙂

  5. Katrina Says:

    Hearing that news at 12 weeks is a whole lot different than hearing it at 36 weeks. As your uterus expands, the placenta should move right on up out of the way. I think you’re gonna be great and fine and wonderful! If it does stay there, you get a c-section…but honestly it doesn’t matter too much how babies get here once you see them for the first time and hold them in your arms. :o)

    Hang in there, sweetie! we’ll be right here for ya!

    and look at that widdle nose! tooooo cute!

  6. Nix Says:

    I had PP at 12 weeks and was put on modified bed rest, but I was pregnant with twins and my supercautious OB had concerns about my cervix. By week 14-15 (I can’t remember now) it had resoved ie was still low but no longer covering the cervix and by week 25 they couldn’t even find the placenta anymore (was on the back wall of the uterus somewhere and not visible on US)
    The statistics I read where 90% of the PP diagnosed early in the 2nd trimester resolve themselves and they(the docs) only really start paying attention around week 20.
    Good luck and try not to stress too much
    PS your little munchkin is gorgeous

  7. meg Says:

    Love the picture! So cute. My friend had the placenta P and delivered via c section at 36 weeks and her little boy is just fine. Try not to stress about it! Good possibility it will clear up anyhow!

  8. Jennifer Says:

    Mine was very very low lying and I was also put on pelvic rest for a period of time. It resolved itself though…I’ve read that when they find this perfore the 3rd trimester, it usually resolves itself.

  9. wanttobeamom Says:

    I had this and it moved on its own. I think I read somewhere that 50% of women at your stage have placenta previa. Your uterus is still very small. I wouldn’t worry about it too much. You’ve still got a lot of growing to do!

  10. Julie Says:

    I had pp with our 2nd daughter and things worked out just fine. I went on to have a normal pregnancy and a vaginal delivery with no complications other than the fact Natalie weighed 9lbs 13oz LOL

    Hang in there – things will be ok – you have LOTS of time for that placenta to move out of the way. I believe the clearance needs to be 2-3cm or something like that – so I’m sure you’ll be fine. As you keep growing, that placenta will move. 🙂

  11. Jennifer Says:

    You probably know more about placenta previa than I do at this point, but I’ve heard of it resolving in a lot of women as their uterus grew. And you uterus has lots of growing left to do, so hopefully it moves up.

    Beautiful u/s pic. I love ultrasounds at this point, because it is so amazing to me how much they grow between 8 or 9 weeks and 12 or 13!

  12. Denise Says:

    Hello little one!

    Was the transducer still warm from my scan? It’s kind of funny to think we were lying on the same table just hours apart.

    Huh, just re-read the last two sentences and it sounds really creepy if your scan was trans-vag. Mine wasn’t, so I was assuming yours wasn’t. If it was, please disregard my comments (ewww)!

    I can’t believe this. It is just one thing after another for you (and Nancy). Could you girls please just normalize for a bit so we can all stop freaking out? Ha! But really, I hope this will resolve on its own and you can let out your breath (just a little bit).

  13. Michell Says:

    I don’t know a lot about this other than yes it does often move and become something that isn’t much of an issue. So happy for you that things are moving along well and love the U/S pic.

  14. topcat Says:

    What a wonderful picture!!! I know nothing of PP … but reading all the comments, it sounds pretty manageable. Hope that placent moves up, up, and away!!

    xox

  15. maria Says:

    Beautiful u/s pic! I’ve had three friends who had PP and they all corrected on their own with time.

  16. Rebecca Says:

    CUTE picture! I had a previa in my first trimester and actually gave me some spotting (I totally freaked out). It moved away from the cervix very quickly as the pregnancy progressed…they caught it early. I wouldn’t be too worried. They explained it like if you made a mark on the bottom of a balloon and blew it up, the mark would move along as the balloon (your uterus) expanded…that made sense! Good luck!

  17. heather Says:

    My placenta was previa at my 20 week ultrasound and I had a follow up ultrasound today at 28 weeks. The placenta is still low but in the process of ‘resolving’ . it’s no longer covering the cervix and my midwife says that it can only get better from here, it wn’t move back down.
    so it can totally resolve!

  18. Kymberli Says:

    I don’t have any advice about the previa, but I just wanted to drop in and say how happy I am that the bub is doing well and is looking so cute!

  19. Katie Says:

    Placenta previa at 12 weeks is very, very common….I had one at my 19 week scan and it cleared by 26 weeks. >90% of them clear when they’re found at 18-19 weeks, and the number is even higher for 12 weeks…..(by “clear” I mean move away from the cervix)

  20. sara Says:

    Beautiful ultrasound picture – it’s just amazing how much they have grown! I had a complete previa at 9 weeks and that’s why I had all of that bleeding early on. I still have a previa – but haven’t really had much problems with bleeding. I ditto what the others have said – 90% of previas move by later on in pregnancy. And for the few that don’t – I have seen a ton of great healthy deliveries on moms up in L & D that I did epidurals on that had the previas at term. But most of the time they move 🙂 Great looking picture – and sorry about the previa. Even though it will likely move, I understand the stress you get when hearing the news…it still is hard to hear even knowing it will likely resolve. ((hugs))

  21. Amy Says:

    Hi there, I too was just diagnosed with placenta previa on the 31st. I’m 16 weeks. I have partial PP. My OB didn’t seem too concerned. I went in for an U/S b/c I had some light brown spotting. It’s better to know but still scary at the same time. My Dr. said no heavy lifting or sex. I feel like I should do nothing but lay on the couch until my next U/S. Hard to do when I have a 2 year old to take care of. We’ll make it through this – you’re not alone! 🙂

  22. docgrumbles Says:

    Great shot of the Bub!

    I know little about placenta previa, but I hope it goes away.

  23. Karen Says:

    Placenta Previa OFTEN clears up. I had complete placenta previa with my triplets and with triplets it usually doesn’t go completely away, because there’s limited uterine real estate available, but even in my case, it completely cleared up by the time I delivered at 33 weeks. Had I been able to hold out another week and had one of my babies not been IUGR, they would have let me have a vaginal delivery.

  24. Ravya Says:

    I was diagnosed with PP at 19 weeks in a routine u/s, 3 days later I was rushed to hospital as I was bleeding. Thank God, bleeding stopped in few minutes; remained overnight in hospital. I’ve been on pelvic rest; no walking either, just for daily routine.
    I have another u/s tomorrow; hope to hear some better news;
    will post later tomorrow.

  25. sangetha Says:

    i was diagonisd when i was 12 Week i wil b checkng pp position again in 18 Week scan in 2Days .hope mine mves

Leave a Reply

