I need numbers

First and foremost, I wanted to thank all of you who reassured me about the placentia previa business. I feel so lucky to have such a supportive community and making me not feel like a super big idiot who freaks out about every little thing…

And I promise to get better about commenting. I seem to still be in a fog. I don’t know what I do at work all day. Not a lot of work but oh well…

So I had a message on my phone this morning from my OBGYN. The nurse called to say my early screen was “all normal” and it “looks great.” Umm. Doesn’t she know I need numbers. I really want the odds. Maybe it’s because our whole reason to do IVF with PGD were based on the 50-50 odds of passing OI. Or I have a thing for numbers.

Or I am conditioned to my RE always telling me numbers.

I am thankful everything looks good. I’d just like a number to confirm it.

11 Responses to “I need numbers”

  1. bleu Says:

    I so get that. You need to make them put in HUGE bold letters all over your chart to ALWAYS give you numbers. Tell them it makes you relax and makes you stress less, that can often work. I cannot stand it when I get a call and am not given numbers.

    Much love.

  2. Duffy Says:

    This has been a hard one for me too! My OB will give me details when I ask, but the nurses are always very general, “everything looks great!” – what a switch from being in the thick of numbers and details during IVF!

    I thought I would fight this harder, but something in me has started to relax and try to trust in my body again, in this pregnancy, etc…but boy is it hard – Dr. Google is my best friend!!!

    I “get” the fog too……it’s pretty consuming at times, and hard to get anything done.

    Big hugs to you!!! And hope you get the numbers you need!

  3. Denise Says:

    I’ve experienced the same frustration with them. I have to specifically ask if I want details and they often seem reluctant to tell you specifics. But it’s your body and you’re paying for the tests, so make sure they give you the info you need to be comfortable!

    I’m supposed to get results back from the quad screen any day now, so I’m carrying my phone with me everywhere to try to avoid missing the call. I know they’ll be very general if they leave a voicemail!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Definitely call and ask them for numbers. I think OB offices are used to dealing with women who assume their pregnancies will go fine. Women who are used to the RE’s office and who are less likely to think quite so positively need numbers damn it!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Call and get your numbers if you want them…rest assured though…there are tons of false positives on these tests, so if yours were negative you’re in great shape!

  6. Kymberli Says:

    I agree with Jennifer – call for the numbers if they will buy you some more time to keep the willies at bay, or at least to a dull roar. Most OB’s aren’t accustomed to IVFers who live by numbers. I’m glad to hear that everything is well, though!

  7. Rebecca Says:

    I agree with all of these ladies…it’s so hard to get used to hearing things like “all looks good” or “everything looks normal” because we’re not used to good or normal! I’ve had to wean myself off of getting the numbers b/c I wanted to stop obsessing about all of it. It’s so good to hear that things are going well though…it’s about time!

  8. sara Says:

    Congrats on the good results – but I understand your need for the detail of the numbers. Of course you would want them, as would I 🙂 Hopefully by calling you can make that good news even better 🙂

  9. Carrie Says:

    Nothing wrong with calling and getting your numbers. I hope that they put you more at ease.

  10. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Hang in there. I hope you get the numbers and peace of mind you’re looking for! HUGS! 🙂

  11. Nichole Says:

    Hello there…I hope you are doing well and I wanted you to know that I tagged you on my blog!

Leave a Reply

