My gums, my in-laws and 14 weeks…

I am 14 weeks as of today.

I find it crazy.

And I am SOOO very ready for my two bellies to merge. Right now, I seem to just have a growing, hard fup. I’d like to actually look pregnant not lumpy fat. I guess that is the joy of being tall and of average build. I also had the joy of trying to avoid Ma.cy’s big woman bra section – you know the one where the bra cups could fit your head and come in a delightful assortment of color choices like beige, black and white…

I’m normally a 36D. So moving up was rather difficult, at least in my head. I got just a temp bra. One to tide me through my growth spurt. It’s only a 38DD. I couldn’t bring myself to get an E cup. Although maybe a DD and E are the same. Whatever. I still am wearing the my old two-clasp bras. The three clasp one is a bit daunting yet.

The other fun part of my pregnancy are my gums. They actually are sore when I floss. But that is not the worst of it. Back in 2005, I noticed a little bump on my gum, just below one of my bottom front teeth. (What are they called?) At first, I thought it was just a piece of food under my gum line irritating it. But it got bigger. A lot bigger.

I went to the dentist and they’d seen nothing like it. Thanks. They cut it out and I nearly cried when I took a look in the mirror. I was so happy to have my smile back. I’m a very toothy smiler and the growth was visible when I gave a big smile and was partially covering my tooth.

The biopsy came back and it was just extra bone growing, for whatever reason, there. Fast forward to 2007, it returned. This time smaller but in the exact same spot. My dentist said the next time it grew, we should try and get it while small so hopefully we could be rid of it.

Of course, it started growing a little while ago. Not that it could have appeared when I wasn’t pregnant. And, obviously, it’s gotten bigger as I’ve been waiting for the magical second trimester mark to appear and for me to potentially have it removed. The first time, they cut it out. The second, they used a laser. And I have an appointment with the OBGYN later this week and one of my questions will be about it’s potential removal. 

I don’t think I can go till February with this stupid growth. It’s not especially painful. But I can tell it’s there. And it’s gross. I won’t bother to horrify you with a photo. But I worry that the doctor won’t want me to have oral surgery. Uggh. I’ll have to perfect my fake smile…

Otherwise, things are pretty good. My in-laws arrived at our house last week for a visit that will last through the month. I can’t complain though, as my father in-law is planning multiple projects around the house. Free labor always is a plus. And we think we need another puppy, our little Scottie, Molly, loves playing with their Scottie, Duncan. But she is a little widget of a thing compared with him. Maybe she’ll get a puppy when I get a baby.

15 Responses to “My gums, my in-laws and 14 weeks…”

  1. Duffy Says:

    Yay! 14 weeks!

    I can sort of empathize with the bra situation except I STARTED out as a 34F!!! So you can imagine at 18 weeks now what I am dealing with. I think each of my boobs is bigger than my infant will be when s/he is born!

    I can def empathize on the “waiting to look pregnant and not just fat” situation. I think just now, if I wear the right clothes I actually may look pregnant. Just for emphasis though, I annoyingly rub my belly a lot to give people a hint. 🙂

    Yay for free labor!!! We are STILL working on our bathroom – these things always take so much longer than anticipated!! And hubby’s version of nesting is deciding that ALL of our house projects need to be done NOW!

    Sorry about the weird tooth/gum thing. Sounds annoying for sure! Hope you can get some relief soon!

    But yay! You are 14 weeks pregnant!!! yay!

  2. soulblisszen Says:

    Congrats on 14 weeks, I cannot believe how time is flying.

    As for your dog, I bred my dog when I got pregnant with Bliss and she had 2 puppies. We kept one and it was the best thing I ever did. they play together all day long and while I was busy dealing with newborn she was not lonely so much. I would never do a single dog again, truly.

  3. Miss Tori Says:

    Congrats on 14 weeks! The tooth thing sounds annoying.

    We have two toy poodles, and they love playing with each other. They also love fighting over who is going to lay on my chest (talk about bra sizes – you have NOTHING on me! lol). It will be interesting to see how they react whenever we do have a baby. I’ll probably have to have a ticket dispenser and for them all to take a number.

  4. Somewhat Ordinary Says:

    Wow 14 weeks already!! I hated waiting to “look pregnant” then when I did start to look pregnant I kept thinking “There is no way I can get any bigger!” Oh, but I did!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    I can hardly believe you’re at the 14 week mark already. Time flies. And I have to agree that the merger of the two bellies was an event I was happy to reach. If I’m going to have a stomach, I at least want to look preggo. That stupid roll of fat above the preggo belly was annoying.

  6. nancy Says:

    Ack! That really sucks. I’m sure no one else can notice it though. Of course we always think it’s something like a big neon sign with a flashing arrow towards our problem spot.

    Congrats on making it to 2nd trimester! 🙂

  7. mrsyak Says:

    My bra fits my head now too. I went from 32 C to 32 E (which I had no clue even existed)! So glad to see that you’re at 14 weeks!!!

  8. Denise Says:

    Yay for 14 weeks! I guess a hard fup is better than a soft one? I guess I’m lucky that I started to show so early, but I am seriously concerned about how ginormous I’m going to be eventually! I really, really need to go bra shopping. I’m still wearing my regular bras, but they are just really uncomfortable.

    Molly definitely needs a playmate. I would offer up our two, but would be difficult since we don’t live right by each other. But you are welcome to take our beasts anytime!

    Hope you’re able to get the gum thing fixed soon!

  9. Carrie Says:

    I wish that my boobs would grow when I get pregnant, because I have none! But, nope I one of the few who doesn’t grow in that department whatsoever.

    Celebrate making it to the 2nd trimester, and hopefully you can relax a little more now that you are out of that horrible 1st trimester.

  10. HeidiM Says:

    A puppy and a baby sound like a challenge at the same time. Although, my puppy learned a lot from the older dog and didn’t require too much training. But still…could be too much poo at one time!! My husband loves to remind me of all the poo that babies bring into your life, nice man that he is.

    I hate bra shopping, I always want the pretty lacy ones that show through clothes, so it’s a choice between looking a pretty bra and a lumpy t-shirt, or a boring bra and a smooth t-shirt.

  11. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Yay for 14 weeks! Welcome to the second trimester. In a few weeks your bellies should merge. Mine merged at like 20 weeks and it was much cuter. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re doing well otherwise minus the gum issues (OUCH!)

    HUGS!!!

  12. docgrumbles Says:

    good luck with that nasty gum bone growth!

  13. Bee Cee Says:

    Wow, 14 weeks has flown by…I bet it’ll fly by now till the big day. I’ll be following!

  14. sara Says:

    Congrats on the 14 weeks! That is awesome 🙂 Very cool about the free labor, and the cute second doggie. I bet yours would like a playmate when you have the baby. Then again, I’m just a sucker for dogs. I’m sorry about your growth – ouch that sounds painful! Hopefully they are cool with you getting it removed whenever you want to help you feel better. Maybe if you give the OB a really sad look and look very down when asking about it, it will help convince them? I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  15. Kymberli Says:

    My boobs grew exponentially, too. At my largest, I ballooned to a 42GG. Now I’ve deflated to a 38DD. Still huge.

    I’m glad to hear that you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

