My cervix, placenta and everything in between

I am unsure when I will stop worrying every time I go to the doctor’s office. But every time, I have a sudden panic that something will be wrong.

Yet again, I was proved wrong.

At my cervix check, everything looked good and it is standing pat (or closed tight?) at 4. But it’s amazing how now with the dildo cam, you can barely see any of the baby. And a word to the wise, it’s great being the first ultrasound patient of the day at my OBGYN except for the fact that the dildo and goo was the coldest I’ve ever experienced…

Then the tech switched to an ultrasound, just to take measurements and check on my placenta too. While the placenta is still mostly covering my cervix, it has moved in four weeks, which the tech said was great and it should continue to move. Yay!

She also measured my amniotic fluid level, which was good. As well, she measured the baby. I’m 16w2d and it’s measuring at 17 weeks with a heartbeat of 148! She told me not to freak out though, it’s not a crazy huge baby. We’re sitting only in the 67 percentile…

Then she asked us if we wanted to know the sex… I looked to my hubby and we both chimed in yes. And she showed us the little money shot. “There’s the scrotum and there’s the penis…”

Yep, a BOY!

I’ve had dreams and thought from the beginning it was a boy but I had a 50-50 shot, right?!

So we’re thrilled.

She also pointed out the stomach and empty bladder, which apparently recently was emptied..

But I am so so happy and thanking my lucky stars for this. Now if only my double fup would turn into that perfect preggo belly I want!

And I have just another two week wait until my next appointment and then two weeks until another cervix check. But I don’t mind. It means I get to hear or see my babe every two weeks. Love it.

17 Responses to “My cervix, placenta and everything in between”

  1. She Likes Purple Says:

    Yeah, a boy! I won’t find out for WEEKS what we’re having (they make you wait until 22wks, how am I going to stand it). But a boy. How perfect.

  2. Lori Says:

    I just love this stream of good news. Congratulations on your SON! Your bladder-emptying son.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Congratulations on a boy! I know it doesn’t really matter, but for me at least it just seemed so much more real when we knew what we were having.

  4. bleu Says:

    YAY for great appt’s. YAY and congrats on having a boy.

  5. Katrina Says:

    Yay for boys! Isn’t it so exciting??? Soooo happy for you!

  6. Denise Says:

    Does it kind of freak you out, like it does me, that they pee in you? And you have a little penis growing inside you! So cool.

    I’m glad everything is looking good. I know what you mean about the panic. For me it goes away at the appointment and for about 2 hours after and then I go right back to worrying.

  7. Kymberli Says:

    Congratulations on your healthy boy!!! So exciting!

  8. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    So exciting! Congrats! 🙂

  9. Jennifer Says:

    Congrats! Boys are so much fun…we’re having our very soon and can’t wait! I’m so glad your pregnancy is going great!!!

  10. Miss Tori Says:

    Congrats on the little three-legged baby in your womb! Sounds like everything is going well as it should be.

  11. megpearson Says:

    What a fun post! A moving placenta…yay! A baby AHEAD of schedule….yay! and a boy! I am so happy for you!

  12. Carrie Says:

    I’m glad everything is going so well!

    Congrats on getting a little boy!

  13. pj Says:

    Awww! YAYYYY! How wonderful!

  14. Duffy Says:

    Such Great News!!! Congrats! And congrats on finding out he’s a BOY! 🙂

  15. nancy Says:

    woohoo! Congrats on the ~boy~! Our boys will terrorize girls everywhere 🙂

  16. maryanne Says:

    Awesome news on the health of you and your baby boy!

  17. sara Says:

    Awesome news and high fives all around! Congrats on your little boy, a moving placenta (even if moving slowly) and a good cervix. Keep the good news coming – those are the best type of updates to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

