Twelve pounds and 19 weeks

It’s been forever and a day since I posted. I’m not sure why exactly but I’m here now and that’s all that counts, right?

Ha.

Actually, last week was an interesting week for me. It marked one year since we added Molly the puppy to our family and one year since I got my first beta from my first try at IVF and the beta hell rollercoaster that finally ended a month later with the methotrexate shot for the ectopic two days after my birthday.

Needless to say, I am anxious for early October to come and go quickly.

As for me, I am 19w2d along. That seems just crazy to me. I’m thrilled. But still waiting for the definitive wiggles and kicks. I can’t tell exactly what is going on in there. I mean, I think I’ve felt him move but I don’t want to say for certain. And, despite my gaining of 12 pounds into this pregnancy so far, I am still rocking the double fup.

I did take pictures but my self belly portraits look awful. I’ll try and get my hubby to take some this weekend so all you who enjoy the circus-freak-factor of my belly as compared to the perfectly round one can laugh and laugh at it.

My 18 week appointment last week was good. Baby’s heartrate at 156. But next week I get a peek at him again during my cervix/placenta check and then at 22 weeks with the big anatomy scan. Yay.

And they did the AFP testing last week, which thankfully was normal. But stupid me forgot to ask if they also ran the triple or quad screen with this. Hmm. I guess I can find out at the next appointment.

I find I am becoming stupider as this pregnancy progresses. And I have NO attention span at work and no motivation to work. Also, I am becoming klutzy. Now, I like to think my 10 years of ballet gave me a little grace. But I am finding out I am losing what grace I had quickly.

Just ask my “ring” toe. You know, the one next to my pinky toe that I either broke or sprained last week kicking my laundry down the stairs. Don’t ask. I’m an idiot. But it’s a lovely shade of redish purple. And, no. I didn’t go to the doctor. My resident broken bone expert said they won’t do much for me but tape it. And I can wiggle and walk on it just fine, without pain so I think I am in the clear.

But, still, I am a giant klutzy idiot.

Although, it’s a symptom I’m so willing to endure. I just have to invest in low-heeled boots this winter. I don’t need to be perpetually falling on my ass.

11 Responses to “Twelve pounds and 19 weeks”

  1. bleu Says:

    YAY for almost half way there!!! WOW!!!

    I say go for flat boots, not even a little heel, your balance will get worse and worse as your center goes more and more haywire from your belly.

  2. Katrina Says:

    Clumsiness is directly due to the loosening of ligaments so your hips will spread to push the little guy out. The hormone is called relaxin (i think) and it affects ALL your ligaments, that’s why you drop stuff and trip and waddle.

    The sudden onset of stupidity is what I call pregnant brain. It will pass when you wean the baby, if you nurse. I think it’s our body’s way of making us focus on babies, baby prep, baby clothes, feeding babies, changing babies, etc. Can’t be thinking about work! Gotta tend to a baby! It stinks but just try to enjoy the goofy things you’ll do and say.

    And definitely wear flat shoes.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Nearly 20 weeks…that’s so incredible…it seems to be going by so quickly (at least from my vantage point). Good luck with the anatomy scan…do you want to know if baby is a boy/girl? Can’t wait to see those belly shots!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    You’re reaching the halfway mark! The time will really start to fly by from here. I totally hear you on the motivation at work thing. I thought that TTC killed my motivation but pregnancy made it even worse. It wasn’t until the last month when I frantically began trying to wrap up projects that I found even a hint of that dedicated employee that I used to be!

  5. JJ Says:

    Ive already given up on the fact that I cant even wear my little bitty heals–just bought another pair of flats today! I cant believe its almost half way for you–how exciting!

  6. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    YAY for 19 weeks and great appointments! 🙂 Just about halfway! WOOHOO! 🙂 ((HUGS))

  7. Kymberli Says:

    So glad to hear from you! Good to hear that the babe is doing well and that you are, too!

  8. sara Says:

    Congrats on 19 weeks and a great appointment! That’s awesome 🙂 I’m so happy to hear that the little bean is doing well, and that your anatomy scan is quickly approaching – how exciting 🙂 Sorry about your toe, that sounds painful : – ( No one ever told me before this whole pregnancy thing that your brain goes to mush and you become a klutz when you become pregnant either. At least it was a surprise to me! Hopefully in no time you I will be sporting our sexy heels and be back to our brilliant brains, LOL! ((hugs))

  9. sara Says:

    opppsss I meant you and I will be sporting our sexy heels (not you I)

  10. pj Says:

    Congrats!!! Time is flown by!

  11. Denise Says:

    I’m so happy you are at 19 weeks! And that the AFP was normal and anatomy scan coming up, yay! I’m sure you’ll know for sure that what you’re feeling are kicks any day now. I think was able to tell for sure around 20 weeks or so. Now it is constant and so cool! And I gave up my low heels last week and have officially moved onto flats only. Boo (sucks to be short)!

    The clumsy thing is frustrating. Sometimes I feel drunk because of it! Hope your toe heals quickly!

Leave a Reply

