24

Sorry for being a horribly infrequent blogger and commenter as of late.

I am sooo very happy though to report today is 24 weeks. 24 WEEKS. Amazing. Everytime he wiggles, kicks or whatevers in there, it’s so unbelievably amazing. Wonderful.

I have two more weeks till my next appointment, which will be lots of fun featuring the gestational diabetes test, a cervix check and a pap, just to make sure I continue to be normal. Woo hoo.

And I’m even thinking about my registry now. And actually painting the nursery. Nursery. I can’t even believe I said that word.

I will try and post more (and photos) later this week.

For now, my 30-year-old sister and I are in shock at my mother, who four days after moving back from Minnesota (and that is a whole other story), is taking my 17-year-old sister to get her GED today.

!!!???

Apparently, A. thinks school is dumb. And working at the mall will be better. And she will make enough at the mall to get her own apartment and car, and support herself. She is so wise. I’m the dumb one.

I want to smack my mom. I know school isn’t for everyone, I just think this path is a hard one. And especially for a headstrong 17-year-old  with a mother who doesn’t want to be a mother anymore to make this decision… I just am speechless.

I just wonder, what if she doesn’t pass. Then what?

7 Responses to “24”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    What is it with kids these days!?!? Okay, maybe it is ironic that I say this when I’m only 30 but still. They just have no clue as to what it really takes to support themselves. My SIL just finished dental assisting school and thinks she’ll be making bank now. Ummmm, $15 per hour doesn’t go far in an expensive city when you’ll have rent to pay on top of daycare (yup…she’s a single mom who has lived off welfare for 2 years…arrgh!)

  2. Nancy Says:

    omg about your sister. omg.

    I was wondering where the hell you were. Glad to see all is well and you have just been totally ignoring us. I was worried that you got yourself tangled up in some maternity panty hose.

  3. Sarah Elephant Steps Says:

    Oh man I am not looking forward to the GD test. It sounds so gross, I hope I can keep it down!!! Good luck with that!

  4. Denise Says:

    Oh jeez. What is your mom thinking?

    Congrats on hitting 24 weeks! Is it starting to move faster now? Is the GD test just the initial 1 hour one? I hope you pass that one. The 3-hour sucks.

    Oh, and to answer your question, Dr. Aba (I was just going to put Dr. A, but that could be three different ones and putting Dr. Ab could be two different ones!) said she thinks no more than 10 weeks to go, which puts me just under 38 weeks. We’ll see if she’s right!

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    YAY for 24 weeks! So exciting!!! The GD test isn’t so bad, just make sure you have water available for when you can start drinking again. That stuff makes you really thirsty. ((HUGS)) 🙂

  6. Kymberli Says:

    I love hearing about all the wiggling and I can’t wait to see pictures!

    *sigh* I’m not even sure what to say about your sister, or about your mother who is allowing this. Your sister will soon see that being independent isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be. Unfortunately, she’ll likely have to learn that the hard way.

  7. Somewhat Ordinary Says:

    24 weeks!! Aren’t the movements amazing?

Leave a Reply

