Drop out

I am beyond words.

Yesterday, my mom and youngest sis found out that you actually can’t get your GED without officially dropping out of school.

So today she dropped out of school.

Awesome.

I get you can’t physically force a kid to go to every class but seriously? I am at a loss. There is a stigma, right or not, attached with a GED. She can’t go to CU like she said she wanted. I’m actually on the verge of tears at work thinking about this. I don’t get it. I don’t understand.

If this is my mom’s thinking it’ll be tough love, she’s mistaken. She’s spoiled my youngest siblings rotten. They’ve never had to do anything, chores, pay for stuff, laundry, anything. But my mom blames MTV for it. Yes. It’s all My Super Sweet Sixteen’s fault.

8 Responses to “Drop out”

  1. bleu Says:

    I was too young to get my GED and only got the Proficiency Test to get out of high school. I went on, later, to go to College and earn a BS and then to grad school and get an MA.
    Just FYI it can turn out ok,I promise.

  2. somewhat ordinary Says:

    I know this sucks, but sometimes it turns out ok. I was recently watching something on our public access channel (it was when I was staying home and couldn’t stomach another episode of A Baby Story) about a law profesor at the local college that dropped out of high school and got her GED etc, etc, etc.

  3. sara Says:

    I’m sorry – I hope that in the end things work out the best that they possibly can.

  4. Miss Tori Says:

    Some lessons are learned the hard way. Unfortunatley for your sister, it sounds like how that’s how she’s going to do it. Perhaps you can talk some sense into her?

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Ugh. Being the youngest of three, I can only imagine how you feel. I know my older sister would cringe when we made bad choices or our mom let us get away with things she didn’t think were right. It’s a tough position to be in as a sibling. It might turn out ok though. At the end of the day though, your sister needs to know that its her future she’s going be hurting if she doesn’t do what she has to do. Why not enroll in online school? That way she would still get a diploma and she wouldn’t have to actually go to school.

  6. Denise Says:

    Oh, man…

  7. christina (apronstrings) Says:

    ohmyfreak! that’s insane. good grief. what’s a kiddo to do when they are getting that advice. tehre is still hope, she can always go to a community college and then to a good school. there’s still hope. but i am rolling my eyes with ya.

  8. Nancy Says:

    Oh my goodness. I am the youngest of 6 and while I was spoiled, I actually went the furthest.

    Too bad she won’t understand until it’s too late. At 17, you think you know SO much. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

