The crib…

It’s getting a little more real this whole bringing home a baby thing.

So real, we actually bought a crib.

Crazy, I know. Even more crazy to think 15 weeks left in this pregnancy…

Anyway, so armed with my 20-percent-off-a-single-item coupons, off we went.

We ended up not buying the Cons.um.er Re.por.ts best value crib I thought we’d end up with, as they didn’t have one there and, frankly, I want to touch and shake for sturdiness the crib my child will be sleeping in. So we went with the one we previously had liked, before we got serious about looking. It’s pictured (in a super crappy picture) below.

And much to my grandmother’s dismay, we did buy the black one. She doesn’t understand why we like black and then she was worried about teething rails and the paint being made of lead from China…

We also bought a little mattress. And thanks to birthday gift cards, our grand total was $61. Yay! So in seven to 14 days our crib will arrive. Crazy.

While we were there, we also decided to register. I swear it was the blind leading the blind. (Sorry for the unpcness of that) I have to look into what bottles to buy, the pacifiers we should get, which monitor is the best. I just can’t look at it all off-hand and know what to get! Wedding registry, easy. This, not so much.

And I am totally confused by their little registry guide. What the heck is the difference between a waterproof crib pad and mattress pad? We registered for two waterproof mattress pads but do I need something else under the sheets?

I know, such dilemmas right?

Otherwise, things are good. I think I’m getting ginormous. Baby’s wiggling a bunch. I still worry about the what ifs, but overall this is starting to seem more real. And I know, I owe you all a photo of my belly, which is still not perfectly round. Oh well…

And a little little sister update. She passed the GED and got a full-time job at Sears. Sears? One of her friends works there or something. It’s so not the hip place my sister would work. But 40 hours a week. We’ll see how she enjoys that. She also (finally) got her drivers license and my mother insured her on her Mercedes. Nice. So she drives that while my mom borrows a car from my grandparents… 

And supposedly my mom is going to move into her friend’s condo. I guess two weeks living at my grandparents was enough. I’m still guessing my brother will want to stay at my house when he comes home from college over Thanksgiving and Christmas. That’s ok though. We love him. Keep him away from crazy. And we have Wii, food and three computers in the house, what else does an 18-year-old need?

10 Responses to “The crib…”

  1. Bee Cee Says:

    So glad everything is going well with baby Jen! I am sure the remainder of the pregnancy will fly by.

  2. Miss Tori Says:

    I like that crib. What is your color scheme for the nursery? Sorry about the family turmoil. Believe me, it could be worse.

  3. JJ Says:

    Way to go my friend! Wish we could have gone registering together, cause…Ive got NO clue. Mook has convinced me we need to go this weekend…
    Love the crib! The black is great!

  4. Nancy Says:

    Our cribs look identicle. Identicle? Is that how it’s spelled? Identacle. Identecle. Nothing looks right now.

    Identical! I’m a moron.

    I am almost done with our nursery. It should be done this weekend. I’m all excited to put the crib together. It’s in storage right now and needs little put together time, so it should be easy. OMG. I’m so excited.

    Black? The dust will show. Just know that. Cribs have lots of nooks and crannies.

    Don’t worry about the registry. You’ll make due with whatever decisions you make. It’s not like you’ll be sitting there later on and crying that you got the “wrong” mattress pad! (btw – you want the waterproof pad. and you don’t need anything else under it. Although I get additional little sheet savers to put under the baby at the beginning. easier to change just that little pad instead of the entire sheets/pads.)

  5. somewhat ordinary Says:

    I love the black crib! I wanted a black crib, but got vetoed. I did however convice my husband to refinish the dressers in black so I still got what I wanted in a way.

    As for the pads – I put one on top of the sheet so that I don’t have to change the sheets everytime there is a leak in the middle of the night. I did a lot of research on products and have been using stuff for almost 8 months so if you have any questions feel free to ask.

  6. Denise Says:

    Isn’t the registering thing so confusing?! There are just so many THINGS and so many options that it is impossible as a first time parent to know what you actually need. I cheated a little and looked at my cousin’s registry before adding stuff to ours. Of course, they are first time parents too so what do they know?

    I thought having a crib made this more real at first, but now that we have a bunch of stuff in the nursery, it just seems like stuff. It is still really hard to imagine having the babies in there. Weird.

  7. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Glad to hear things are moving along nicely! I have a whole spreadsheet that I put together when I registered after researching “Baby Bargains” and other things. I’ll email it to you if you like–just email me. 🙂

  8. Carrie Says:

    I like it! Baby registering can be difficult. You will find, though, that everyone has a different opinion about every thing. So, get what you guys want and enjoy picking out all the cute little items.

  9. christina (apronstrings) Says:

    i love the crib! grandma will ahve to deal. this is getting exciting….

  10. millie Says:

    That’s a gorgeous crib! Do you have bedding picked out? I think there are some helpful sites with other registry lists besides the store’s own list but not sure where they are (so I’m no help at all).

    Do you know Baby Bargains and their message boards at Windsor Peak? Those are great.

    You are getting soooooo close!

Leave a Reply

