We’re ginormous…

I’m finally getting around to posting about last week’s appointment… Apparently, I am carrying the second-coming of Andre the Giant.

Seriously. I prove it with photos below.

Since our 9-week ultrasound, the baby always has been measuring ahead. I’m still measuring three weeks ahead bellywise, and he’s apparently in the 95th percentile. Oh yes. He’s estimated to be 2 pounds 9 ounces. At a little more than 26 weeks. Crazy.

Maybe I do have gestational diabetes. Although, big babies in both families are nothing new. My grandmother and her twin sister both were 7 1/2 pounds. That’s insane, by the way… My hubby was nearly 9 pounds, his sister 9 1/2 pounds. As well, my youngest siblings were both 8 lbs. 14 oz. when they were born to my mom, who happened to be 33 and 34 years old at their time of birth. Guess who’s 33? So I am trying not to freak out. Part of me thinks I’m going to have to have a c-section if he continues to be ginormous.

Everything else is looking good. We got to see him open and close his mouth drinking fluid. And I’ve got a lot of that too. Apparently, this is the peak time for amniotic fluid. The norm is between 10 and 20 whatevers. I was at 20.6. My cervix also has remained the same – 4 cm! Yay! And the best news, my placenta has moved out of the way! I’ve also now been cleared for pelvic activity. Yet to cross that bridge though. I’m kinda scared of that.

His heart was beating at 138, a little lower than usual, but they told me it was normal. I seem to worry about everything these days. And kick counting. I think I’m a little obsessive…

Anyway. Here’s my photo from last week at 26 days (I’m now 27w1d)…

cropped-262

And the better pics of our little man…

26-face1 26-face-2

14 Responses to “We’re ginormous…”

  1. Ms. J Says:

    You both look bee-U-tiful!

  2. somewhat ordinary Says:

    You don’t look that big to me. And, don’t worry, I had a 9 pounder vaginally (my best friend had one 9lbs 12 oz) and it went fine. I didn’t have GD and I was only 3 days past my due date. Plus, when they are big like that they seem less scary in those first few days.

    Great news about the placenta moving!

  3. Kristen Says:

    You look FANTASTIC! And I love the pics of your little guy! Nate was 2 weeks early and 7 lbs, 11 oz. so I’m sure he would have been 9 lbs had he waited longer. Maybe your little man will come early and spare you the worry of his exit! But there are many women who have successful vaginal deliveries of larger babies. You can do it! XOXO

  4. JJ Says:

    Love your picture! You look GREAT–so does your little man=) And I am thrilled about the placenta–gives me hope!

  5. Meg Says:

    Fabulous post! He is so cute and I am a big fan of fat healthy babies!!!! Oh, and I want your sweater.

  6. docgrumbles Says:

    That is a great face shot! He is a cute little big fellow!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    You look great! Hopefully this baby won’t be too big!

  8. maryanne Says:

    You guys look great!!!

  9. Kymberli Says:

    So adorable, the two of you! He has such delicate lips!

  10. Denise Says:

    Plenty of women do fine with bigger babies, but can I just say, “ouch?”

    So glad the placenta has moved out of the way!

    Love your sweater.

  11. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    I think you look great! And having a big baby isn’t so bad, honestly. I mean, Lemy was 8+ pounds and for a girl that is fairly large and I was still able to give birth vaginally. I’m keeping everything crossed that you don’t have GD and that your little one is just a big boy. 🙂 ((HUGS))

  12. Nancy Says:

    SO cute!!! Both of you – the belly and him.

    As for the baby bigness, you always look to your husband’s size/weight and your mother-in-law’s labor for an idea of what to look for. (of course, it’s an OWT)

    Glad you are doing so well though! I’m measuring a little behind and it’s freaking me out. I’d rather be bigger.

  13. Katrina Says:

    Awwwwww! Look at his sweet little face! Adorable! And you aren’t huge at all!

  14. apronstrings(christina) Says:

    thats all great! well, the big part doesn’t sound fun.: (it would be freaky is hte heart rate was always the same….yours isn’t! try not to worry. though, THAT is like the POT calling the KETTLE black. ; )

Leave a Reply

