Missing in action, for a good reason…

I apologize for the lack of comments and blogging as of late.

But as of today, my husband is temporarily unemployed, laid off, furloughed, screwed with a stick up his ass.

Yeah.

Awesome.

And we’ve realized how much it sucks to be poor. We’re two journalism majors basically living paycheck to paycheck (yay IVF with PGD!). Sadly, it works for us right now. It’s not ideal or anything, but we manage.

Now, I don’t know how we are going to get through this. I know somehow, someway we will. Maybe a few banks will be robbed or something. 🙂

But what I think sucks most is my hub’s company wants his startback date to be Feb. 12. Yes, two days AFTER our due date. Uggh.

I am sooo so mad at his company. I understand the economy sucks. But all this happened in a week’s time. I can’t even talk about it without being an emotional mess. Last Monday when he got the news, I was a mess. Crying at work. Uggh. And then the next day, my in-laws arrived for a two-week visit.

My life is just crazy right now.

But I am trying to remember the good things. My little kicky monster wiggling away, the love my hubby and I have for each other, we have a roof over our head. And we will make it. We may have to ask for help from who knows who, but we can ask.

In the meantime, I am going to try to divine the winning numbers for powerball and celebrate hitting 29 weeks tomorrow. I owe you all a picture.  I know.

Love to all

18 Responses to “Missing in action, for a good reason…”

  1. bleu Says:

    Oh hun so sorry for all the stress. I am sending lots of love your way though.

  2. Denise Says:

    Oh crap, Jen. Just crap. Any chance they could have him back on the payroll February 12th, but let him not actually start work until a couple of weeks after? I’m so sorry this is happening.

  3. Kymberli Says:

    Not fair. Not a single bit. I wonder if Denise’s suggestion would be possible. I hope it is! In the meantime, I’m sending you powerball vibes. Can’t wait to see the new pics!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Damn…that is not good news at all…and I’m so sorry! Definitely not what anyone wants to go thru just before a baby is born. Best of luck to your hubby!!!

  5. Duffy Says:

    oh Jen, I am so sorry – that really does suck! I really hope some magical solution makes itself available to you. (one that doesn’t involve bank robbing preferably 🙂 )

  6. Ms. J Says:

    Just chiming in with sympathy and nodding in agreement that this sucks.

  7. Stu Says:

    Can’t he just apply for another job. You’ve all the hassle of ivf he should step up.

  8. JJ Says:

    *ugg* I am so sorry, Jen. Hoping the start-back date can be rearranged somehow…thinking of you all.

  9. somewhat ordinary Says:

    You will get through this. My husband got laid off when I was 12 weeks pregnant and then I found out I was being laid off at 37 weeks pregnant. It has been a crappy year! Look at it this way at least it is just temporary. I know it doesn’t help financially, but it could be worse. It does suck that they did it for the holidays though. Can he look for something else?

  10. Jennifer Says:

    I’m there with you on the hubby laid-off front. It does suck that he has to go back so soon after your due date. Hopefully you’ll go early!

  11. Meg Says:

    Geez. Just when you may be beginning to relax, that rug gets pulled right out again. I am so sorry for this super stress ball Jen…

  12. Nancy Says:

    ooo. Not good. But, like you said, you will survive!

    don’t worry about your husband going back to work after you have the baby, I don’t like my hubby being home after I give birth because there just isn’t anything he can ~do~ anywho. It’s just too much hovering for me.

  13. pj Says:

    So… he’s laid off only until February? Like, “we don’t need you right now, but we might need you in February,” kind of thing? How’s that for loyalty! What if it were the other way around. What if, he didn’t need a paycheck for a few months but they needed him to work. I’m sure they’d be A OK with that! (insert sarcastic smirk here) That’s really lousy of them. I’m sorry you have to go through this.

    If you want me to drive the getaway car, I will. 🙂

    I think I have so many needles left because my dosages are always so freakin’ high! Like… you only need one or two of the ten GonalF needles they give you, if you’re really infertile and need tons of the stuff! Anyway, yea. I’ve decided that come 6PM, whomever is around is going to get to watch me mix and stab. Lucky them! TMI probably…

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving. I hope it’s a pleasant distraction. 🙂

  14. Duck Says:

    Sorry to hear, this sucks, totally sucks. It’s always incredibly hard to be unemployed (i too have been laid off at christmas – but it was christmas eve – sweet eh – it too was the creative field, the public TV in Canada) So I feel your pain, hoping things work out, glad that it’s not permenant.
    Hang in there
    (sorry I dissappeared, needed to take some me time, and it worked, have a new blog if you have time, come take a look).

  15. Bee Cee Says:

    That’s crappy news to get at any time, let alone now. Hope things get sorted soon and you can smile again soon.

  16. Karen Says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry!

  17. millie Says:

    I’m so sorry. I hope you have successfully channeled the correct powerball numbers. Any chance the start back date can be moved up?

  18. sara Says:

    I’m so sorry – this just isn’t stickin fair…(( lots of hugs))

Leave a Reply

