Ah-hee ah-hee ah-hee a-who

And so goes the shallow breathing technique for labor, which we learned last night at our first and only birthing class.

Being the procrastinator that I am, all the express classes were booked. That is, until Jan. 17 and with as big as I am, I didn’t want to cut it that close. Also, I didn’t want to spend four weeks in classes. So we went with a private class.

It was good. As birthing classes go. We just have to borrow from our hospital the birthing videos, so my hubby can see an actual birth.

But the whole time we were there, I couldn’t believe we were there. The idea of us actually having a baby and me giving birth? It’s crazy.

We also got a tour of their remodeled birthing wing and recovery area. It was surreal. I remember being there for my brother’s birth in 1990. The colors are different, no more mauve and green, but the layout of the floor is essentially the same. And then it made me think of my mom giving birth and getting to see him emerge into the world, and now I am doing the same! I have memories of getting my mom ice chips. It was just crazy.

I know, crazy is my word of the day and we all should scream like Pee Wee’s Playhouse when I say it, but seriously. I am so not prepared.

I need to make a list of all the things I need to do, I need to meet with the nurse for our “Birth Day Wishes,” which spells out who will be in the room, how much attention I want from the nurses, etc. Surprisingly, my mom wants to be in the room. And it’s a surprise because my mom can’t stand to see her children in pain. Seriously, she couldn’t see her daughters get their ears pierced. But my hubs and I think we just want medical personnel and each other. I’ve got too much family and don’t want to pick and choose. They can see me after. And as if they want to actually see me…

But it is really happening.

I had my first shower this week, my work one, followed up with my family and friends one Saturday. The best part of my shower was the cake. Seriously, Kin.g Soo.pe.rs rocks the poppyseed cake with a buttercream frosting. MMmmm. But even better? What the cake said.

Since we found out the sex of the baby, EVERYONE has asked us his name. We have a short list, and we’ve shared that with friends and family only to have them give comments, come up with new names, tell us what ethnicity that name is, etc. So we just started telling everyone his name would be as follows:

thor-pablo

I just died laughing when I saw it.  As everyone at work knows him by this name. But, apparently, the bakery lady was confused, according to my coworker. I can’t imagine why?! But we think it works. And we decided we won’t tell anyone his real name until Th.or Pa.blo is here.

*And to the question I had been asked in a not-so-nice comment, the private class cost us $130. Yes, money is tight with my hubby being out of work and only getting unemployment. But we have a little savings, he’s not spending money on gas and waiting for the cheaper, $70 class until I’m considered full term was not an option for us. If I didn’t have an extra $60 to spend I’d really, really be worried. 

And the comment about him being brittle and not able to knock me up? Um, we don’t know if he can or can’t. We did IVF for one reason alone – GENETICS. But, apparently, you’d rather say really rude things, be mean and not nice. Thanks poophead.

12 Responses to “Ah-hee ah-hee ah-hee a-who”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Too funny! That lady at the bakery must have thought there were some pretty cruel parents out there!

  2. Duffy Says:

    Totally can relate to the not being ready and the “what the hell!? I’m here already?!” feelings!!! Love the name, glad you had a great work shower.

  3. Nicole Says:

    Mekka Lekka Hi-Mekka Hiney Ho. Gotta love Pee Wee at the secret word of the day. “Crazy” AHHHHHHHHHHHH! 🙂

    I can’t believe it either!! Just over a month left?!?!?

    I vote tomorrow’s secret word be holyshityou’rehavingababyinamonth! AHHHH! 😉

  4. Lori in Denver Says:

    It’s like that old joke where the punchline is:

    “YOU’RE Mighty Thor?! I’m tho thore I can hardly walk!”

    Let me know when you’re ready for me to make fun of the REAL name.

  5. JJ Says:

    I burst out laughing at the cake–I LOVE IT! My office mates are calling my little man, Leroy.

  6. maryanne Says:

    That just made my day-too funny!

  7. Denise Says:

    My shower cake (and actually the flowers too) was from KS. They actually do a really good job. The woman at the bakery must have been trying to conceal her confusion not knowing whether it was really the name of the baby, or just a joke. Priceless!

    I guess I waited too long to sign up for classes too because I ended up not being able to attend since they were scheduled when I was in the hospital. Oh well. I guess I’ll figure it out! I just can’t believe it is December already. I mean, wasn’t it just yesterday that we were going through treatment?

  8. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    HA HA HA!!! That is fantastic! I would kill to see their faces when they told them that was the name to write on the cake. That is just too funny. 🙂

  9. Nancy Says:

    Lol. That’s hilarious!

    My father was at the hospital with my mother (and freaking everyone else) while I was laboring the first time. 22 hours of very HARD induced labor and it HURT. OMG. I was trying to breathe, but I ended up crying through most of it. My poor dad, he didn’t know what to do with himself, he finally just got up and mumbled something about “I can’t see her in pain anymore” and walked out and spent the rest of the time in a chair, by himself, outside of my room.

  10. Christina Says:

    I love the name! When I was pg. with the twins and knew they were boy/girl, everyone had an opinion, just like you said! We started calling the boy “Gringo Pete” (because it was a brand of tortillas in the fridge and made me laugh!) and the girl “Bianca” because the people we bought our house from had a daughter with the name and had left a light switch plate with her name on it. My husband said why waste money on a new switch plate when a personalized one was already there! I was on serious bedrest and a friend came by with two cupcakes – one pink and one blue with little flags in each – Gringo Pete and Bianca! SO FUNNY!

    Incidentally – Joseph and Elizabeth became more popular when they actually got here!

    Enjoy this time.

  11. HeidiM Says:

    A private class sounds better to me, more individual attention. I keep putting off classes because of the cold weather myself.

    That’s gotta be the funniest baby nickname I’ve heard. Your co-workers must be super cool to have put it on the cake!

  12. docgrumbles Says:

    Sorry you’ve been getting rude comments.

    Love the name and the cake!

Leave a Reply

