The I Word

I thought I’d post a quick little update about my 32-week appointment, as I am now freaking out about little time left there is…

Baby is still head down and had a lovely heartbeat of 150 bpm.

I’m just measuring huge. Around 36 weeks. And because I don’t have high blood pressure or gestational diabetes, we are going to do a growth scan at 36 weeks to see if a giant baby is the cause. Dr. Ash (sorry Denise, I was wrong who I had today!) was wonderful and said that we wouldn’t do anything before I was full term. She also said at 22 weeks, the baby was measuring at the 43rd percentile and the 26th week appointment in the 95th, so it could just be we caught him in a growth spurt. Or the growth spurt hasn’t stopped!

As well, she mentioned in the third trimester, measurements can be off a pound either way. But if I go in and am looking like there is a 9 pound baby in there, we will induce at 37 weeks. EEK.

That’s five weeks away. FIVE. I am so not ready. I’m excited and anxious to see him, but I want everything ok. I really need to get my head out of my ass and get going on everything.

6 Responses to “The I Word”

  1. Duck Says:

    WOW hope there is not a 9 pounder in there. My friend gave birth to a 11 pound baby, she was HUGE.

  2. Lori in Denver Says:

    Wow, Jen. I don’t know why I’m shocked that it’s already 32 weeks because I’ve been reading all along, but I am.

    Happy holidays. And good luck with the head and the ass thing.

    Hehe.

  3. Denise Says:

    Yikes, 36 cm already! I guess the good thing is that if they induce, you will have some say in which doctor delivers you. The next 5 weeks will probably fly by. I really can’t believe I’ve been on bedrest for 7 weeks-since I got home it has gone really fast.

  4. pj Says:

    Wow! That’s fantastic news!!! I’m so excited for you!!! 🙂

  5. Nancy Says:

    oh gosh, i hope you don’t induce. I can’t tell you how many inductions i’ve seen for a “big” baby only to have them be much smaller when born. Let your body do what it needs to do for the baby- don’t push nature. (sorry, i’m just so anti-induction!)

    I am measuring 36w too, but my doc said +/- 3cms is normal, so you are really only measuring 1 week bigger 🙂 Think of it like that instead.

  6. docgrumbles Says:

    I hope it was just a growth spurt!

Leave a Reply

