Five weeks and counting…

So I could start this post by saying I’ll be a better blogger, that’ll be my New Year’s resolution. But seriously!? I’m having enough trouble keeping my head above water trying to prepare for this baby and training my replacement at work that once he arrives. Ha. I’m not counting on much. Low expectations are easier to meet, right?

On the baby front, last week I had the 34-week exam. I was measuring 37 weeks and a lovely blood pressure of 118/76. Typical of me pregnant or not. The baby, whose name we seriously have yet to decide, showed a lovely acceleration too during the doppler. And he’s still wiggly as ever. Well less kicks but more whole body (or what it feels like) rolls and tumbles and such.

Next week is the big 36-week exam. Complete with growth ultrasound and cervix check. It’s funny. The idea of a date, knowing when the baby would be arriving if induced is nice, but then the thought of him arriving before he’s ready is scary. No thanks to the article I read this week about women who have C-sections before 39 weeks and the problems that can occur. Not that I expect a C-section either. But it’s all I seem to do lately. Worry if he’s ok. Me, meh, whatever. But I just want him to be healthy and happy whenever he arrives. In February, preferably. Probably though on Super Bowl Sunday when my hub’s Steelers are playing… 🙂

Ok. I need to work. It’s deadline. And I’m so not done. Yay pregnancy brain!

6 Responses to “Five weeks and counting…”

  1. Denise Says:

    Is there a cut off of how big they will let you (or the baby) get before they decide to induce or do a c-section? I know you are in good hands and they will do whatever is best for the both of you.

    It is so exciting now that you are getting so close!

  2. Serenity Says:

    You’re so close now!

    (And FWIW, Baby O was breech my entire pregnancy. We scheduled a C-section for 39 weeks, but I ended up having it at 37w1d when my water broke. Baby O was small, but healthy – no issues breathing or anything.)

    I can’t believe you’re only a few weeks away!! EEEEEE!

    xx

  3. Nicole Says:

    I’m skeptical about the Steelers. Pat would be so mad at me!! Doh!!

    And I already told you – birth day will be sometime between Jan 22-24. Do we starting a pool? Please put me down for those dates. 🙂

    Oh, and while we’re at it, I’ll take 21 inches, 8 pounds, 10 ounces. Yay, Thor!!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Great to hear an update from you…I can’t believe how close you are to giving birth…your 36-wk appt is not far off now…I gave birth to Jules at 38 1/2 wks.

  5. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    Glad to hear all is well! Thinking of you! 🙂

  6. sara Says:

    You’re getting so close now! I’m keeping all my fingers crossed for more smooth sailing ahead! ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

