He’s going to be BIG

My 36-week exam went well.

I only gained 1 pound from two weeks ago, which is an accomplishment for me. My blood pressure was good at 112/78.

As for baby, the most important one, the ultrasound revealed he’s now in the 97th percentile. So a guesstimate of 7 pounds 13 ounces – a pound up or down.

My doctor today – the self-proclaimed hippy of the practice – said she doesn’t believe in inductions for size. She thinks its better to let nature run its course, as long as there are no complications, and that I couldn’t grow a baby I could deliver.

She told me though, next week’s appointment with a different doctor in the practice could be an entirely different recommendation… We just have to choose what is right for us.

At this point, I am all about letting nature take its course, which means because my mom is taking a trip to Mexico with her boyfriend next week, her first grandchild will be born!

Otherwise, things are good. We preregistered at the hospital after the appointment, so now it’s just a waiting game. It’s insane. I can’t believe I’m nearly there.

10 Responses to “He’s going to be BIG”

  1. Meg Says:

    It must feel reassuring that your body is actually working as it should! I cannot believe you are this close either!!

  2. Denise Says:

    Each of the doctors do seem to have different philosophies on some things. Don’t let one of them talk you into something you aren’t comfortable with. If it makes you feel any better, the last ultrasound we had showed each baby at 5 pounds 3 ounces and they were 4 pounds 11 ounces and 4 pounds 8 ounces, so they were smaller by half a pound and more. But as you say they can be bigger than estimated too. I’m hoping for your sake he is smaller!

    I can’t believe you are so close! I can’t wait for you to become a mommy.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I’ve heard that inductions in first time moms result in a higher risk of c section so you are probably better off just seeing what nature has in store. That baby will come out one way or another…and soon! Good luck!

  4. duck Says:

    Not to scare you but my friend had a 10 pound baby. it was MASSIVE… glad that everything is okay.

  5. mrsyak Says:

    I think you’re leaning the right way!

  6. docgrumbles Says:

    I am hoping that it is indeed true that I wouldn’t grow a baby I couldn’t deliver!

    Congrats on the good appt!

  7. Duffy Says:

    Wow! You are getting so close! It sounds like all is going really well. Maybe you just grow big babes? But I bet the Dr. is right and you’ll be able to birth him without induction. I hope he is a bit smaller though, for your sake! (I am hoping the same for our guy too….the longer he is in there the more I wonder how big his noggin is getting!) Hope the next few weeks pass quickly and smoothly for you!

  8. somewhat ordinary Says:

    I didn’t have an ultrasound to determine size and the doctor’s were telling me the baby would be about 7-8 pounds. He was 9 pounds even and only 4 days past my due date. When I think back to my friends that go to a different practice than me they all get growth scans at 34 or 35 weeks. All of their babies were smaller than what was projected.

    The thing that did me in wasn’t his weight it was the size of his head. At 14.75 inches he was 97%! I never thought about head size until I went in for his 2 week appointment and the nurse asked if I had a c-section. She went on to tell me the average head size was around 12 inches.

    Wishing you much luck over the next couple of weeks!

  9. Nancy Says:

    woohoo. was hoping you were getting close and i didn’t miss it! 🙂

  10. Rach Says:

    Yay for 36 weeks although you are probably closer to 37 as I write this. I am interested to see how much the baby actually weighs when you give birth. So much of the measuring and sizing seems more speculative than anything in the end, but I do agree with your doc. Let nature take it’s course. So excited for you! Not long now!!

Leave a Reply

