We have dilation

So I have my first cervix check… And, um, that kinda hurt.

Anyway, I am around 80 percent effaced and 3 cm dilated, although she can stretch me to 4.

OMG.

She also said we should schedule a date for induction, because she doesn’t want me and super huge baby to go beyond 40 weeks. So next Thursday was the date we chose.

Double OMG.

OMG.

17 Responses to “We have dilation”

  1. Laurie Says:

    I don’t want to be a know-it-all especially my 1st time commenting:) but…….I would make sure you have a bag packed! Because 3-4 cm, OMG indeed! You could go much sooner than next Thursday. My co-worker was 3 cm last week & came back from her dr. appt. to tell us that & all the nurses I work with who used to do L&D said she wouldn’t be back the next day. Sure enough, she went into labor that night. Anyway, good luck! I was 40 weeks yesterday & who knows when I’ll have him, but while the waiting is nerve-racking, it’s also kind of exciting!

  2. Denise Says:

    Wow! Can’t wait to hear that you are IN LABOR!!!!

  3. She Likes Purple Says:

    Next Thursday is also my induction date! February 5 … beautiful day, if you ask me.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Wow, the big day is scheduled! And you’re already 3cm’s…holy crap! That’s great, becuase then you can go right on pitocin and not have to worry about using a ripening agent first. I was induced too…I was about 2cm dilated already…induction started at 11pm (I was admitted at 9pm)…they broke my water around 3/4am, and I went until 6am before getting an epidural (and I was in tons of pain already…man)…I was fully dilated by 11:30am…after a few pushes he was out at 11:52…smoothe delivery. I hope yours is just as smoothe…I can’t believe the big day is next week!!! So happy for you – you are about to embark on the most wonderful experiences of your life!!!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Woohoo! You are almost there!

  6. Kymberli Says:

    Uuummmm yeah. OMG. OMG OMG OMG OMG. For what it’s worth, I’m guessing that you’ll go into labor on Friday and will deliver on Saturday. Just guessin’. šŸ™‚ I’m SOOOOO excited for you!

  7. Bleu Says:

    Congrats, good luck!!

  8. Road Blocks and Roller Coasters Says:

    SOOO exciting!!! Thinking of you! šŸ™‚

  9. Caba Says:

    How exciting! Yeah, those cevical checks kinda suck, right? But OMG, the end is in sight!

  10. duck Says:

    This is great! Hope all is well with you.

  11. somewhat ordinary Says:

    Yay, beautiful day indeed – it is my birthday!!

  12. Nancy Says:

    Wow! Can’t wait until we find out just how big this baby really is!

  13. maryanne Says:

    I am so excited it is so close for you!!!! I agree-I bet it is before next Thursday! Can’t wait to hear the good news!

  14. sara Says:

    Wow!!!! I can’t believe the time is almost here, I’m so excited. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. You’re going to do great!

  15. docgrumbles Says:

    yes – the cervix check hurts!!!
    wow- good luck!

  16. duck Says:

    Hey Jenn,
    Back to check in on you – Thursday is soon!!!

  17. Nancy Says:

    Hey Jenn – what’s happening? It’s only been a few days since you posted, but a few days at the end of a pregnancy is eternity!!!

Leave a Reply

