Gasp! She blogs!

I figured after yesterday’s meeting of the Colorado Bloggers, I should actually blog.

It’s hard to believe that Friday, Mr. O will be a year old. I don’t know where the time has gone. My little baby has gone from just a squish to a walking babbling little boy with a headful of shockingly orange hair. I wish I could have slowed down time to enjoy each moment, to remember every day and every detail with him. It also makes me want to have another one sooner than later…

As for when that try at a sibling will come? Maybe when we win the lottery? I just hate the fact that expanding our family comes down to a matter of dollars and cents. I also am a little scared. Our last time with a FET ended with a blighted ovum. And I don’t EVER want to repeat that experience from going in excited about an ultrasound to leaving in tears knowing there only is an empty sac. Plus, we only have two frozen healthy non-OI embies. I don’t want to think about having to do the fresh thing again and doing the genetic testing all over again. Uggh.

Did I mention that in October I hit the magic advanced maternal age benchmark too? Or my best friend and neighbor are both due in June with their second babies?

Damn that clock’s ticking.

Most of all though, it is when I see O sitting on the floor reading a book upside down, hearing him laugh at the dog running around, getting his sweet hugs and slobbery kisses, how he loves to play with other kids, hearing my hubby and him talk and play that makes me want to have another one.

But I can’t complain if O is our only. I’ve never been happier.

4 Responses to “Gasp! She blogs!”

  1. JJ Says:

    Can I copy that last sentence, esp since my little man’s name begins with O too? Cause its exactly how I feel! Happy birthday soon to your “little” O! Glad to see your name pop up in my google reader! xoxo

  2. Nicole Says:

    It was so wonderful to meet you and your handsome little man yesterday! I caught Briar smiling in her sleep last night, and I can only assume it was being loved on all afternoon by O.!

    I hate that building a family comes down to financial capability, and can only imagine the heartache that comes with it being just out of reach (from that perspective anyway.)

    I hope to get caught up on your story thus far, and hope to read more from you in the future. I know you said yesterday that it is hard to write now that you are on the otherside of the bridge – again, I can only imagine – I have found that some of my favorite ‘parenting’ blogs are written by women who have had to jump through enormous hoops to build their families . . . there is such a relishment and obvious enjoyment that they take in their child(ren) that doesn’t always shine through on non-IF blogs.

  3. Denise Says:

    Jen’s back!!! At least for one entry. So good to see you both Saturday. O is so cute and looks like he’s thriving. He was so cute with Briar! I have pictures to send out to you guys.

  4. Somewhat Ordinary Says:

    Wow, it has been a long time! Glad to “hear” from you and to hear that things are good. Happy Birthday to Mr. O, he has a really great birthday (it is mine, too)!

Leave a comment